• Blog Stats

    • 485,072 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Joan’s Tips for Blogging, Computers, Etc.


“Joan’s Tips for Blogging, Computers, Etc.” by Joan Y. Edwards

From time to time, I think, “Wow! I need to tell my readers that. I wonder if they have trouble with this, too.” So here’s a blog post that I can add to if I think of something to remind me and to possibly help you, too.

  1. If you copy a URL (website link) from a site, and put it in a document and it doesn’t work, look at the link: 20% is a code for a space. If you see a link that says: http://www.joanyedwards.com/20%20%, it should look like this: http://www.joanyedwards.com/. Somehow two extra spaces got added to your link. Sometimes it’s a hidden link and you can’t see it.

If you click on a web link and it says 404, can’t be found, or 400 bad request, check the screen at the top of the internet browser box. You might find spaces that were added by accident. In place of each space, the computer put 20%. 20% means space in computer talk. Take the 20%20% out and try again.

  1. If you find that a link for a site isn’t a good link, try the basic home link of the main website. For instance, if you had the link,
    http://www.joanyedwards.com/floodle.htm, and it wasn’t a good, working link, try the main website, which is http://www.joanyedwards.com. Then you can search for links to categories on the main site that you want to see. http://www.joanyedwards.com.FlipFlapFloodle.htm.
  2. Write a copy of your blog post in your word processor and save it. Sometimes the blog might not get saved correctly. Then you’ve covered your heartache.

  3. In WordPress Blog, if you want one space between lines, hit SHIFT and ENTER. Result is one line spacing. I haven’t tried it in Blogger.

  4. Save your work, put the date your started on it. You can name each version for the date you wrote it. Then if you change your mind about revisions, you’ve got it. If you put the date at the front of the title, it’ll help you see when it was written…112215.

5.When commenting on a blog post, write “Dear” and the first name of the blogger and sign your name at the end. This will keep the message out of the SPAM folder.

SPAM checkers filter out bad email addresses.
SPAM filters delete the comments with two or more links.
Akismet is the SPAM checker for WordPress.

Spammers write beautiful general things about your blog post hoping you’ll approve it and click on the links to their products. When I wrote the ones Akismet had filtered out, my emails came back undeliverable.

  1. To protect your computer from viruses, purchase trusted anti-virus software. Have it scan your computer often. It’ll quarantine viruses so that they won’t hurt your computer. Holly Jahangiri suggests using software from Symantec or McAfee, or freebies like Avast, reputable companies that are known to be safe and effective.

One time I clicked on a website that started flashing a message that said, “Your computer is infected, click download to get software to check and remove it.” DON’T DO IT. IT’S A SCARE TACTIC. HIT the X to CLOSE THAT PAGE QUICKLY.

Here’s why: The minute you click on that download link, it downloads a virus to your machine. They may try to sell you software. Don’t buy it. You may be giving your CREDIT CARD INFORMATION TO UNTRUSTWORTHY PEOPLE.

I hope this information helps you. I’ll add to this from time to time when I see something that I believe you’d like to know.

Thanks for reading my blog. I appreciate it.

Do something today because it’s fun for you.
Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2012-2015 Joan Y. Edwards
Last updated November 22, 2015

20 Responses

  1. Dear Joan,

    This is great advice. Thanks.

    Jamie

    Like

    • Dear Jamie,
      You’re welcome. It was my pleasure. Thanks for reading my blog and taking time to write a comment. I appreciate it very much. Those sites that flashed like that scared me. However, I didn’t click on anything. I closed down that window and got as far away from it as I possibly could.
      Take time to do something you enjoy today!
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

      • Yeah, that’s a tricky way to scam people into buying their product. Another thing to look out for are the survey sites that promise money or gifts after taking part in a survey, but in order to cash in you have to subscribe to two or more services that sponsor them. It’s a waste of time because you end up paying them.

        Like

        • Dear Jamie,
          You’re right, The survey sites say you get something for free, but you have to purchase something from a company first.
          I know what you’re talking about. We have to be alert and guard ourselves as best we can and…share the things to look out for with others.
          Thanks for writing.
          I enjoyed chatting with you.
          Laugh a little today.
          Joan Y. Edwards

          Like

  2. You write: “If you click on a site, and it starts flashing, your computer is infected with and it names all the horrible viruses you can think of and more.”

    I think it would be clearer for the folks who don’t already understand this if you change that to say:

    If you click on a site and it starts flashing a message that says your computer is infected with one or more horrible viruses or malware, and it suggests that you click a link or download any software to check or clean your PC, DON’T DO IT.

    You might also mention the URLs for some reputable antivirus software companies like Symantec or McAfee, or freebies like Avast! that are well-known to be safe, effective, and reputable, so that readers have some idea who they CAN trust. If you’re running a hardware firewall and a decent antivirus program, you can pretty safely ignore little websites that want to “help” you deal with the nasties. They’re often RUN by the nasties.

    Like

    • Dear Holly,
      I can see where #6 was confusing as it was worded. I revised it. I hope I made it clearer and didn’t add to its fogginess. I also added URLS of Symantec, McAfee, and Avast. Thanks for reading my blog. I appreciate your suggestions. You’re a jewel.
      Do something fun to celebrate you!
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

      • Thanks! I understood what you were saying – and more people need to know that. But the way it was worded could start panic (I know – it’s happened before) and have people telling everyone they definitely WERE infected with a virus. Well – not if they didn’t click the links or download the software! 😉 Also, many of those “Facebook viruses” are not viruses at all – it’s some silly app the user has agreed to let post as if it were them. All you really have to do, most times, is go into privacy settings and apps and revoke all permissions from unknown, untrustworthy apps. They’re…like vampires. You have to invite them in.

        Great blog, Joan – I enjoy it.

        Like

        • Dear Holly,
          Thanks for writing again. I’m glad you understood. I’m also glad you suggested I change the wording. I don’t sign up for the Facebook applications except the calendar. Funny about your calling them Vampires and that you have to invite them in. Thanks for the humor.

          Do something that absolutely fills you with joy!
          Joan Y. Edwards

          Like

  3. Hi Joan,

    Thanks for the tips. I always wondered what those 20% messages were all about.

    Linda a.

    Like

    • Now if we can just do something about the 1%.

      Like

      • Dear Jamie,
        1% of 100 is one. 1% of a thousand is 10. Which 1% are you wanting to do something about?
        You made me laugh. Thanks.

        Do something fun that makes you smile!
        Joan Y. Edwards

        Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. It took me awhile to figure it out. Then I remembered from when I took a course about how to build a website, helped me remember what it was. You take out the extra spaces and voila, you’ve got the right website. The 20% in between needs to stay there. Like if you put, Linda Andersen – it would be linda20%andersen.
      Have fun being your sweet self.
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  4. Soooo helpful! Thank you. I never knew why 20% would show up in links at times. Now I do!

    Like

    • Dear Marcie,
      Thank you very much for writing. The 20% that shows up in the middle is probably all right. It’s the ones at the end that are troublesome. Once you take the ending 20% off, the link should work fine. I’m glad my post was helpful.
      Do something fun today that makes you smile!
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  5. Thanks for the ‘wordpress’ trick … I shall give it a workout on my next post.

    Like

    • Dear Widdershins,
      It’s so good to hear from you. You’re welcome for the “WordPress” trick. I was amazed when I discovered that in the WordPress help section. Another thing you can do is go to the HTML setting, and take out the extra line spaces there. I’m trying to get in the habit of remembering it so I don’t have to go back and do it afterwards.
      Do something good for you today! You deserve it.
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  6. Good stuff Joan, Thanks
    Kit Grady

    Like

    • Dear Kit,
      You’re welcome. Thanks for reading my blog and leaving your kind words.
      Do something fun for you today.
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  7. great info as usual Joan – you’re so awesome to pass along this…we need you!!! 😉

    Like

    • Dear Roxie,
      Thank you for saying it was great information. It’s my pleasure to write about what I learn with others. My blog would be nothing without the many and varied and wonderful people like you who read it and encourage me to write more.

      Do something fun today!
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

