• Blog Stats

    • 479,338 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Be Specific in What You Ask For


Dear Readers,

I thought I’d share a funny story with you.

At the first of November, I said to myself, I’d like to break the record on my website of 120 reads on February 6, 2011. I kept trying to think of posts that would entice more followers. With the new posts, I ended up increasing several days above 100, but not to over 120.

While I was vacationing in Myrtle Beach, I checked the statistics for my Children’s Liturgy blog. It broke the record with 135 readers on November 26, 2011.

My point is in my mind during November, I visualized over 126 reads. However, I didn’t specify which blog. I just said my blog. So-o-o God answered my prayers and my blog post on Joan’s Children’s Liturgy blog: http://www.joanschildrensliturgy.wordpress.com soared to over 135 readers on November 26 when the most it had before had been 50.

My Never Give Up blog has increased its readership above 100 for 3 different days during December, but none over 120. I’m still working on it. I’ll rephrase my goal: Before January 31, 2012, I have had one or more days with more than 120 readers.

If you’ve had a funny experience where you set your goals, but they weren’t specific enough, please share them with me.

Thanks for reading. Thanks for sharing your insights with me.

Celebrate your sense of humor.

Joan Y. Edwards
http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

Copyright © 2011 Joan Y. Edwards

4 Responses

  1. Thanks for the funny story, Joan. Did you post something to your “Children’s Liturgy Blog” on November 26 or right before? If not, what do you attribute the increased interest? Hmmm…If you had broken your record at the “Never Give Up Blog” you might not would have posted as often as you did. We readers benefited from your recent series of posts. All in all, it turned out well for both sites and for your readers.

    The only story I can think of pertaining to stating specific goals involves my search for a job. I have been heard to say “I need a job.” The only one offered so far has been a temporary one. Maybe I should have been more specific, although I did specify on applications. Funny, sort of. Job hunting is never too funny though.

    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you enjoyed my funny story about being specific in what you ask for. It is fascinating thinking about what would have happened if I’d broken my record on the Never Give Up blog in November. I might not have posted the Middle Grade and Young Adult blogs on the same day. The post on November 26th on the Children’s Liturgy blog contained links from my Joan Y. Edwards website for November 27th. Thanks for saying it turned out well for both blogs and readers, too. I have a bunch of new ideas for 2012. I’ll be posting them in the next few days.

      Good luck with your search for a suitable permanent job. Visualize yourself in a job that you like. State your goal in the present, like you already have what you want. Choose wording similar to the following:
      1. I have a permanent part-time job working ____ number of hours a week that pays me $_____ an hour.
      2. I am employed in a permanent part-time job working _____ number of hours a week that pays me $_____ an hour.
      3. I allow myself to have a permanent part-time job working ____ number of hours a week that pays me $_____ an hour.

      Enjoy Your Journey Don’t Give Up – Read my blog – http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

      Like

  2. Joan, tanks for the positive thinking suggestions. I have a good handle on it really.

    Like

    • Dear Linda, That is great!!! I’m glad to hear that.

      Add Color to Your Life

      Play. Laugh. Smile. Joan Y. Edwards http://www.joanyedwards.com

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

