• Blog Stats

    • 468,252 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Use Words from Unusual Sources (PubSub3rdFri December)


“Use Words from Unusual Places” (PubSub3rdFri December) by Joan Y. Edwards

PubSub3rdFri Participant

Pub Sub 3rd Fri Participant

After listening to John Claude Bemis at the SCBWI conference, I ordered a book that has exercises similar to the ones he mentioned at the conference. It is called Writing Open the Mind by Andy Couturier http://www.amazon.com/Writing-Open-Mind-Tapping-Subconscious/dp/B004JZWVOU/

In this book, Couturier has many exercises to experiment using different words, settings, plots, and all parts that go into writing in general. It was fun for me to use words from unusual, random places. It gave me many new words and ideas for my project for National Novel Writing Month. Perhaps it’ll help you with your writing, too.

I changed one of his activities a bit. Here are suggestions:

Write down:

  • ten of your favorite settings, places you’d like to be; ten settings where you’d most hate being.
  • ten names you like; ten names you hate.
  • ten towns you like. ten towns you’d hate to be from (perhaps your antagonist can be from there)
  • ten tragic things that could happen to the main character in your work in progress; ten ways your character can make them worse.
  • ten jobs you’d love to have; ten jobs you’d hate to have
  • ten most proud things that could happen to you or to your main character; ten most embarrassing things that could happen to you or to your main character
  • ten of your favorite foods; ten of your most hated foods
  • ten of your favorite sayings; ten of your most hated sayings

Choose these words while browsing the newspapers, magazines, books that you are currently reading, websites, dictionaries, maps, television, movies, etc. You can even use words you hear your family and friends say.  Write down words that pop out at you, that you magnetize you. I even used a crossword puzzle book. I wrote down all the words that called out to me.

I put my words at the bottom of the manuscript I was writing in the computer at the time. I did free writing or writing that came to mind that was in tune with the story. When I used the word, I deleted it from the list.  You could write them on a piece of paper next to the computer and cross them off when you use them, too. Choose a way that suits you.

Set the timer and write 3 minutes using one of the words. Spend the next three minutes disagreeing with everything you wrote the first three minutes. That’ll add tension to your story. You can save this as a draft and use what you want and discard the other or save it for another time and another story.

Here are three possible online timers that may work for you: http://timberfrog.com/countdown/, http://www.online-stopwatch.com/full-screen-stopwatch/,  and http://timer.onlineclock.net/.

December is a great month for giving. Truthfully, every month is a great month for giving. It is in giving that we receive the most wonderful things in return, thankfulness, love, and appreciation. This month I’d like for you to honor yourself and submit one of your quality manuscripts to a publisher, agent, or contest. If it hasn’t been critiqued, let your critique group read it and give you their opinions, then follow the directions for Pub Sub 3rd Fri.

Week 1 https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/week-1/ Get your work critiqued; Choose a publisher, agent, or contests. Copy guidelines.

Week 2 https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/week-2/ Write your pitch, query letter, cover letter.

Week 3 https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/week-3/ Print everything out. Read it over and proof it. Make Corrections. Send it off. The day to Pub Sub is Friday, December 21, 2011.

Week 4 https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/week-4/ Live it up; Get new ideas. Celebrate you. Merry Christmas. Happy Hannukah. Happy whatever holiday you are celebrating. I’m glad that God made you. It is an honor to have you read my blog.

Please subscribe to my blog by email from the Sign Me Up link in the left hand column or click on Follow at the top of the page, if that option is visible to you.

I’d love to hear from you.

Believe in Yourself
Submit Your Manuscript This Month
Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2011 Joan Y. Edwards

6 Responses

  1. Hi Joan,

    We’d just like to say thanks for mentioning our Online Timer!

    We wish you a very happy holiday season 😉

    Like

    • Dear Online Clock.net,
      You’re very welcome. I like to share resources that might be helpful to my readers. It’s great that you were creative and resourceful and kind to share it for free.
      May your holidays be blessed.
      Do something fun to celebrate you!
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. Joan,

    I took a look inside the book you recommended. What a fun one! I think I’ll order a copy for myself. Thanks for sharing something you have found to be so helpful. I like your Believe Pub Sub logo. Nice one! Did you create it on your iPad? Thanks for always encouraging us to submit our writing.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      The way Amazon lets us look inside books and the reviews gives us prospective buyers an understanding of what the book is about. Then we can get it from our library or purchase it. I’m glad you like the new Believe Pub Sub logo. I did create it myself. I used my Corel’s Painter 12 software on my desktop computer. I’m glad you like it. You’re welcome for my always encouraging you to submit your work. I also need to remind myself to submit my work, too.
      Have a great day celebrating you and your many talents.
      Joan

      Like

  3. Hi Joan, Thanks for more fantastic ideas! I love the way you cull words from unlikely places. I also was intrigued by your PiBoIdMo badge and looked into that. I had never heard of it, but that’s another great idea. Good for you for pursuing your own golden ideas! I am proud of you and know you are going places with all the work you do. I hope one day when we’ve moved away from such a structured home school period I can get back to all this, I am keeping my hand in but long for more time for it. In the meantime I was encouraged by your ideas. Thanks and Merry Christmas! :l

    Like

    • Dear Lara, It’s a pleasure to hear from you. You’re welcome for the ideas. I got them from reading Andy Couturier’s book, Writing Open the Mind. That and John Bemis’ talk at the SCBWI-Carolinas Conference. I just added my own ideas to what they said. It was fun doing it. I’m glad that you liked them. Keep pursuing your goals. Believe they can be done as well as homeschooling. Keep a record of your ideas for homeschooling, write a book about it and voila. There you have it. You can do your own Picture Book Idea Month – one idea a day. Or you could do a whole year of ideas. Then perhaps one of them will keep you so hyped up you’ll have to write it. What’s inside us has to come out!

      Joan Fill Yourself with Joy Share It – Watch the Ripple of Happiness Spread http://www.joanyedwards.com

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

