• Blog Stats

    • 485,688 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

…And the winners are Linda Andersen and Jean Matthew Hall


Linda Andersen was the only person who told me her favorite blog post (universal theme, conflict, and emotions) in a comment on my Happy Second Birthday article. Therefore, she wins a free critique of a pitch and first ten pages of a manuscript. Congratulations, Linda.  Please send your pitch and the first ten pages of one of your manuscripts.

The following six people left a comment on my Happy Second Birthday article for a chance to win a critique of a first page:

1. Widdershins

2. Jean Matthew Hall

3. Sharon Willett

4. Sarah Maury Swan

5. Mary Lash

6. Joyce Moyer Hostetter

Random.org gave me number 2 as the winner. Therefore, Jean Matthew Hall wins the free first page critique. Congratulations, Jean. Please send your first page to me my email address listed in the left-hand column.

Thank you for reading and leaving a comment on my blog. I really appreciate you. You make it fun for me.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Flip Flap Floodle written and illustrated by me
http://www.joanyedwards.com/FlipFlapFloodle.htm

Copyright © 2011 Joan Y. Edwards

8 Responses

  1. Congrats Linda and Jane!!!

    Like

    • Dear Widders, You are such a jewel. You always compliment those who win. May you be richly rewarded for doing that. Do something to celebrate you today!

      Add Color to Your Life

      Play. Laugh. Smile. Joan Y. Edwards http://www.joanyedwards.com

      Like

  2. Woohoo! Thanks Joan. I have a work-in-progress that I’d like to send, maybe in a month or so. I feel like I won twice since I get to send the picture book manuscript and a pitch. Thanks so much for organizing this contest. Congratulations to Jean also.

    Like

    • Dear Linda, You’re welcome for my organizing this contest. I love to do contests. Thanks for letting me know your favorite post. I feel it really helps market your book if you have a good pitch. If you have a good manuscript and a poor pitch, you’re out on a limb without much hope of being caught by a publisher or agent. If I look at one without looking at the other, I wouldn’t be seeing the whole picture for you. I really want to be helpful. I look forward to seeing your pitch and manuscript in a month. This offer is good until November 1, 2012 in case you need longer.

      Lasso Fun Today – Yee Haw!

      Joan Y. Edwards Website: http://www.joanyedwards.com/

      Like

  3. Wow! Thanks, Joan. I’ll send it to you sometime today.

    I can always use input into a ms. I LOVE winning prizes.

    Jean
    http://www.write2ignite.com

    Like

    • Dear Jean, You’re very welcome. I look forward to receiving your first page today. I love winning prizes and giving prizes. It’s fun both ways.

      Believe in Yourself Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  4. Joan,

    I’d like to comment on the free critique of a picture book manuscript and pitch that I won here. I would rate it as a 10. You encouraged me to revise my pitch by including specific examples. After doing so, my pitch is much improved.

    I was pleased that you saw potential in the manuscript as a chapter book. That is my next project. You also suggested helping the MC find a way to connect with her dad who is away from the family. No one else had suggested that to me and I hadn’t thought of it either. This was extremely helpful. Thanks for the reminder to single space between sentences. I know that’s the preferred way.

    So many helpful points. THANKS SO MUCH. What a lovely gift.

    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      I’m glad that you were able to use the comments in my critique to enhance your pitch and your story. I think your pitch and story as you have written it now is strong and will pull readers into the story to find out the trouble Grace gets into and how she finds a way to get herself out of trouble in church. A fun story. Good luck with its publication. I know it’s going to be a big hit.

      Celebrate you and where you are with your writing now.
      Sincerely,
      Joan Y. Edwards
      http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

