• Blog Stats

    • 478,710 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Happy Second Birthday, Never Give Up Blog!


“Happy Second Birthday, Never Give Up Blog!” by Joan Y. Edwards

Sunday, October 9, 2011 was my Never Give Up blog’s SECOND BIRTHDAY. Would you like to win a free critique from me valued at $50.00? You say, “YES.” Check out the bottom of this blog post before you leave. Follow the directions. Maybe you’ll be the lucky winner!

Happy Birthday to you.
Happy Birthday to you.
Happy Birthday, dear Blog,
Happy Birthday to you.

It is exciting. On October 9, 2009 – two years ago, I started this blog. It has been fun meeting so many new people. I’ve enjoyed sharing what I’ve learned with you. A special thanks to my friend, Linda Andersen who has faithfully left a comment for every blog post I’ve uploaded.

Pub Sub has grown from 5 listed participants in 2010 to 13 so far in 2011.

I’ve had the honor to interview Linda Andersen, Jeff Herman, and Vivian Zabel (4RV Publishing), Tara Lazar, Penelope Dullaghan, and Paula Yoo. I’ve received a contract for Joan’s Elder Care Guide from 4RV Publishing: Release June 2015. I’ve had an article published in the SCBWI Bulletin. I’ve taught workshops online  and in person. I’ve been rejected. I’ve been accepted. God has blessed me.

Thank you for encouraging me by reading and posting comments. I post a new blog when the blog statistics show only 5 or 6 people have read my blog at noon three days in a row.  If you have a topic you’d like for me to explore, let me know. I’ll do my best to research and write an article about it.

Here are interesting statistics about my blog:

Number of Posts: Year One-97 posts (one every 3.6 days) Year Two-84 posts (Average one every 4 days).
Number of Visitors: Year One-3,198 (Daily Average 9); Year Two-10,306 (Daily Average 37)
Number of Comments: Year One-331; Year Two-662. (Thank you very much.)
Most Visitors in One Day: Year One-72 on September 22, 2010; Year Two-120 on February 6, 2011.

Here is a chart for Year One and Year Two showing the monthly visitors and the daily average.

It grew from an average of 5 visitors a day to 40 visitors a day. Whoa!
It grew from the first month with 113 visitors to the last month with 1200 visitors. Wow!

Year One 2009-2010 Year Two 2010-2011
Month Total (Daily Average)  Month Total (Daily Average)
October 2009 113 (5) October 2010 594 (19)
November 2009 75 (3) November 2010 558  (18.6)
December 2009 179 (6) December 2010 499 (16)
January 2010 135 (4) January 2011 926 (30)
February 2010 157 (6) February 2011 987 (35)
March 2010 164 (5) March 2011 1181 (38)
April 2010 93 (3) April 2011 811 (27)
May 2010 219 (7) May 2011 935 (31)
June 2010 304 (10) June 2011 846 (28)
July 2010 416 (13) July 2011 855 (28)
August 2010 594 (19) August 2011 1076 (35)
September 2010 588 (20) September 2011 1200 (40)

Here are the top eleven posts for Year One and Year Two:

Year One-2009-2010 Year Two-2010-2011
Top  Eleven Posts Visitors Top Eleven Posts Visitors
1. Putting Universal Conflict, Theme, and Emotions 117 Wonderfully Funny Analogies and Metaphors 652
2. About Joan Y. Edwards 110 17 Days to Repaint a Wooden French Provincial Bed 635
3. Pull Readers into Your Story with Emotion 108 Putting Universal Conflict, Theme, and Emotions 573
4. Wonderfully Funny Analogies and Metaphor 108 What Is Your Story’s Premise? Editors Want to Know 494
5. 17 Days to Repaint a Wooden French Provi 97 How Many Words Should Your Sentences Contain? 454
6. How to Entice an Editor/Agent with a Pit 96 Family Sewing Projects – Jedi Robes and Princess Leia Ponchos 386
7. Story Essential: Plot 93 Eight Character Archetypes 315
8. Can Your Draft Manuscripts Have Two Spaces 82 What I Learned about the Adams Literary Agency 242
9. Four Writing Errors When You Revise 78 Your Writer’s Platform: What is it? 222
10. Eight Character Archetypes to Emphasize 77 Components of a Good Query Letter 212
11. Pub Sub 3rd Fri – Week One Steps to Subm 59 Story Essential: Plot 174

Please sign up for an email subscription from the “Sign me up” block from the top of the left hand column. The 50th person to subscribe from the left will receive a free paperback copy of Flip Flap Floodle or a 1001 Ways to Market Your Books by John Kremer.

Sunday, October 9, 2011 was this Never Give Up blog’s SECOND BIRTHDAY. Would you like to win a free critique from me valued at $50.00? You say, “YES.”

Here’s how to get your name in a hat to win the free critique:

1. Post a comment before midnight on Halloween, October 31, 2011.

2. In your comment, tell me the title of your favorite blog post on my blog and why you like it.

Your name will be entered into a drawing to receive a free critique of your pitch and first 10 pages of a manuscript.  This prize will be good for one year…until November 1, 2012.  I will choose the winner by using www.random.org. I’ll announce the winner by noon on Tuesday, November 1, 2011. I’ll post all of your favorites in a blog announcing the winner. Good luck everyone. Be sure and tell me your favorite article on my blog to enter.

I look forward to hearing from you.
Thank you for reading my blog and interacting with me.

If you just leave a comment and don’t name a favorite, I’ll put your name in a hat for a drawing to win a free first page critique.

Thank you. You Give Me Life!
Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Flip Flap Floodle written and illustrated by me
http://www.joanyedwards.com/FlipFlapFloodle.htm

Copyright © 2011 Joan Y. Edwards

18 Responses

  1. I’ll pass on the contest Joan … however, Happy Birth Day to Joan’s Blog!!!! …. and awesome stats! Bravo.

    …Autumn must be the season for starting blogs. My first anniversary was 27th September, and a few other Frogs (friends through blogs) blogs are having their anniversaries around this time too … Serendipity eh!!!

    Like

    • Dear Widder,
      Great minds wander in the same plane…starting our blogs almost in the same month. Thanks for passing on the contest. I appreciate it very much. Thanks for the compliment and thanks for reading my blog.
      Do something to celebrate you!
      Joan

      Like

  2. Congratulations, Joan, and Happy Birthday!

    Jean

    Like

    • Dear Jean,
      Thank you for your congratulations and your Happy Birthday wishes! I appreciate you very much. Empowering the writers God puts you in touch with is what you do well.
      Celebrate you today.
      Do something fun.
      Joan

      Like

  3. I don”t have anything to edit just now, but wanted to wish you a high-five congratulations!!! You always seem to send the information I need just at the right time. Thank you.

    Like

    • Dear Sharon,
      The free critique is good for a year. Thanks for your high-five congratulations. I’m glad that I always seem to send you the information you need at just the right time. You’re welcome for my blog posts. It is my pleasure to encourage you and give you the information you need.
      Do something fun to celebrate!
      Joan

      Like

  4. Congratulations to PubSub and to you. Impressive stats! It was sweet of you to put my name in as a faithful subscriber and participant. May you and PubSub have many more happy birthdays.

    Linda A.

    Like

  5. Dear Linda,
    You’re welcome. You are impressive yourself. Loyal and inspiring, that’s you, Linda Andersen. Thanks for the note. Good luck with all your submissions. Happy PubSubbing!
    Do something good for you!
    Joan

    Like

  6. Happy Blogirthday, Joan. You are inspiring. If I read blogs religiously, your’s would be at the top of the list. And, yes, I did submit a manuscript this month. EMILY’S RIDE TO COURAGE went to Adams Literary. Cheers, Sarah Maury Swan

    Like

    • Dear Sarah,
      I am so excited to hear from you. Thanks for reading my blog and for wishing it a Happy Birthday. And you submitted a manuscript this month! What a gift! Getting this book published is also your own personal ride to courage. I am proud of you. Thanks for putting my blog at the top of you list. Be sure and let me know when you get your own blog and/or website so I can add it beside your name on the Pub Subbers page.

      Do something to celebrate you today!
      Joan

      Like

  7. Joan,
    I forgot to list my favorite post. My favorite is about universal theme, conflict, and emotions into a story. I have to work on that. Thanks for offering so many resources for readers to consult.

    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad to know that you liked the universal theme, emotion, and conflict blog post. I’m excited that it gave you ideas to help you improve your already great writing. Since you told me your favorite post, your name could be pulled out of the hat for free 10 page and pitch critique.

      Celebrate you today!
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  8. Happy birthday, Never Give Up! Thank you for the inspiration and guidance you’ve given us.

    Mary

    Like

    • Dear Mary, Thank you very much for your Happy Birthday wishes. It is so much fun when I have enthusiastic readers like you. You’re welcome. Do something to celebrate you today. Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  9. Wow! Congrats! I’m amazed just at the statistics you’ve put together. Great job all the way around, Joan.

    Would love first page critique!

    Like

    • Dear Joyce,
      Thank you for your good wishes. I am honored by your presence here. WordPress gives its bloggers great statistics. It updates them every hour. I put your name in the hat for a chance to win the first page critique. Good luck!

      Do something wonderful to celebrate you.
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  10. Missed a chance to win, but great stats!

    Karen Cioffi Writing and Marketing

    Like

    • Dear Karen, Thanks for dropping by. I’m sorry you didn’t win. Thanks for the compliment about my stats. I’ll have another contest soon. I’ll let you know.

      Add Color to Your Life

      Play. Laugh. Smile. Joan Y. Edwards http://www.joanyedwards.com

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

