• Blog Stats

    • 478,710 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

My First Blog Portfolio


woman with red beret

Woman with red beret Copyright 2011-2017 Joan Y. Edwards

“My First Blog Portfolio – Sketches” written and illustrated by Joan Y. Edwards

Dear Readers,

During the last few years, I got distracted and discouraged about drawing, coloring, and illustrating. From doing the research for my article, “Find Your Creative Edge” for the SCBWI July-August Bulletin, I got inspired by Penelope Dullaghan and Brianna Privett with Illustration Friday and encouraged to draw, color, and paint again.  Also, a friend, Ann Eisenstein, author of Hiding Carly, said, “Joan, please put some of your drawings on your blog. I’d love to see them.” Thank you, Ann.

I bought an iPad. I downloaded a free program called “Jot Free” because it looked like fun. I did research in a software magazine for iPad online and found an inexpensive art software, “Art Studio.” It cost $2.99 plus tax.  I worked with these this weekend. Here are a few laughable sketches. Both programs allow you to email the sketches through email. Jots sends jpg images. Art Studio sends png and/or photoshop images. Paint.net (free software) converts pngs to jpgs and also changes the sizes of the images. I doodle on my iPad and smooth it out and make it better in Corel Painter software on my main computer.

blond--gray-headed-lady- improved 2017

Copyright 2011-2017 Joan Y. Edwards

red haired boy jot changed to brown headed man May 2017

Copyright 2011-2017 Joan Y. Edwards

Laughter is healing.  My goal is to draw believable people to use in my next books. Right now, I’m at the cartoon stage. But I’ll grow in skills and knowledge as I draw and study more. Education and motivation are the keys to success. But first, I have to believe I can do it.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
Copyright © 2011-2017 Joan Y. Edwards

8 Responses

  1. Joan,

    What a great idea! Sounds like you’re really enjoying your new iPad and programs. Good for you! Thanks for sharing your artwork. I love the different drawings.

    My prediction is that Amy, the girl who was supposed to go get salt, never returns. She’s hooking up with the football player. Sorry Doug. Girls can’t resist a uniform!

    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for stopping by to see my online gallery in my Blog Portfolio. I’m glad you think it’s a good idea. I really have enjoyed drawing and editing them and improving them. Thanks for telling me you love the different drawings.
      Your prediction that Amy who leaves to go get the salt never returns because she’s hooking up witht he football player. That is too, funny.
      I hope others leave comments, too.
      Enjoy your afternoon.

      Like

  2. How interesting, Joan. You are so open to new things and you keep the content of your blog fresh and diverse.

    Thanks!

    Jean

    Like

    • Dear Jean, Thanks for reading my blog. I am glad you find it interesting. I enjoy learning new things. It’s fun for me. It gives me new ways to reach my goals. Do something good for you today. Try something new that you’ve been wanting to do but have put it off. Reward yourself for taking a step toward it. You will be surprised at how energizing and rewarding on the inside this is. God gives us more power than we realize.

      Enjoy Life’s Journey Don’t Give Up – Read my blog – http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  3. YEA!!! Wonderful! I love this, Joan! You are a gifted and talented woman indeed! I am looking outside at the rain – waiting for the watermelons – and Doug!
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Dear Ann, Thanks for reading. I’m glad you like it. Thank you for encouraging me to do it. I was brave enough to try because of your interest. Thank you for saying I am gifted and talented. We have to look for the watermelons in life, don’t we? They are there! I didn’t draw them in this one, but you could see them, so hey. That is good. I’m glad I made you laugh. Do something fun for yourself. Eating watermelon sounds yummy.

      Enjoy Life’s Journey Don’t Give Up – Read my blog – http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  4. These tools look so great. Great sketches. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Dear Karen, Thanks for reading my blog. I’m glad you liked the tools. I am bowing humbly when you say the sketches are great. Thank you very much. I hope your books – “Days End Lullaby” and “Walking Through Walls” are selling like hot cakes. I am honored by your presence at my blog.

      Enjoy Life’s Journey Don’t Give Up – Read my blog – http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

