• Blog Stats

    • 468,208 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Digital Notes – Post-It Notes and Sticky Notes


Dear Readers,

When I got my new computer, I noticed I had free Sticky Notes software. It’s pretty cool and can come in handy for you.

Things you can do with Sticky Notes for your computer.

You can write down your dentist appointment. You can remind yourself of what you need from the store. You can post your goals.  You can stack them on top of each other, or you can spread them out. Here’s a picture of the Sticky Notes on my computer monitor:

My goals on plain Sticky Notes for Windows 7.

I read on the internet that there was sticky note type software that would let you do more than just sit there like these.

What I learned from downloading several copies of free software – Be Careful

I searched and found at least 10 other brands of small note software for your computer, iPad, and iPhone.  I downloaded a few free ones to compare them for my Windows 7 main computer,  but had problems with the ones I downloaded. You may have better luck. Some were missing parts, so they didn’t work. Others wouldn’t let go of my computer system and close, so I could uninstall them. One had malware on the installation software. Not all free software is like this. I just had this problem with this particular kind – sticky type notes.

What I Like about Post-It Digital Notes

I downloaded the 30 day trial of Post-It Digital Notes by 3M, the company that created the original paper sticky notes. I had no problems installing it. It doesn’t grab my computer and tell me to close it, when it’s already closed. It’s fun, efficient, colorful, and flexible.  After trying it out for a couple of days, I went ahead and purchased it for only $9.99. When I downloaded the purchased software, it installed and didn’t erase the notes I’d written.  I didn’t have to put in a number. It was already done with the installation. Hip Hip Hooray!

1. You can put a bunch of these together for each manuscript: Pitch – Synopsis – Summary; Chapter by Chapter Scenes & Summary; Character’s Name with traits under it; Pictures I found on the internet that looked like I envisioned the character; Research from internet.

2. To show you an idea of what you can do, I created a Memoboard with my writing goals:

Writing Goals Memoboard with Post-It Digital Notes

3. You can email a note to a friend. It shows up as a jpg picture file for them. Of course, if they have the same kind of note software, they can open it up. Change it. Send it back, etc.

4. You can set an alarm. If you have to leave an hour before your dentist appointment, you can set the alarm to go off an hour ahead of time.

5. Copy and paste text from a website and also copy and paste the URL address to bookmark it for your notes.

I hope you enjoyed this post. Good luck with your notes whether they are on paper or on your computer. Have fun with them. Please leave a comment. I’d love to hear from you.

Never Give Up

Joan Y. Edwards

http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

*Only 6 more days to get your sneak preview of Joan’s Plot Diagram. Just make a comment on the Winner of Joan’s Plot Diagram post http://wp.me/pFnvK-y4 and tell me that you’d like to receive it.

*Please sign up for an email subscription from the left hand column. If you’re the 50th subscriber, you will win a choice of a free paperback copy of Flip Flap Floodle or a 1001 Ways to Market Your Books by John Kremer. Forty-two people have signed up, so far.

Copyright © 2011 Joan Y. Edwards

10 Responses

  1. Joan,

    The digital memo board and sticky notes are a clever way to display information without cluttering up your office. What great organizing tools! Thanks for sharing.

    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda, Thanks for reading my blog and taking the time from your busy schedule to write a comment. I’m glad you think that the memo board and sticky notes are a clever way to display information without cluttering up your office. You’re welcome for my sharing. It is my pleasure to share.

      Sing your favorite song! Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. I love the look of the digital memo board, and what a great way to keep up with your notes. Will have to give it a try. Thanks for sharing.

    Cher Green

    Like

    • Dear Cher, Thanks for reading my blog. I’m glad you liked the looks of the digital memo board. I hope you find the software that’s just right for you. Enjoy your day! Do something fun to reward you for all your hard work.

      Believe in Yourself Submit Your Manuscript Today

      Joan Y. Edwards Blog: http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com/

      Like

  3. Thanks for the info on the Post-It Digital Notes.

    Have you taken a look at TurboNote+ ? There is a 30 day free trial. I’ve used this for several years and love the ability to password-protect my notes. Lots of other cool features. 🙂
    http://www.turbonote.com/

    Jeanne

    Like

    • Dear Jean, Thanks for reading my blog. Thanks for taking the time to share about Turbo notes with password ability. I haven’t tried them. Do something fun to celebrate you today.

      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  4. I like the digital post it notes. Looks like it helps keep things well organized and right there where you need it. Thanks for sharing about this program.

    Like

    • Dear Susanne, Thanks for reading my blog and taking time from your busy schedule to leave a comment. I really appreciate it. It has come in handy for reminders of what to do for the day. I put all the things I’ve finished on a finished note. It’s amazing how much you get done in a week’s time. It makes me feel good to see them mount up. Do something good for you! Never Give Up Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  5. It’s truly a great and helpful piece of information. I’m satisfied that you just shared this useful info with us.
    Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Dear Homer,
      Thank you for writing. I appreciate the compliment about this article about Digital Notes being useful to you. I hope you’ll find lots of fun articles here on my blog.

      Celebrate you
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

