What Are You Thinking? To Succeed, Reword Your Thoughts (PubSub3rdFri)


What Are You Thinking? To Succeed, Reword Your Thoughts (PubSub3rdFri) by Joan Y. Edwards

Dear Pub Subbers,

Many times we think we set our goals properly. We want to get our book published. We write a manuscript. We send it off to critique groups. We write a cover letter and send it off to a publisher. Negative thoughts bring negative results. Positive thoughts bring positive results.

What are you thinking? Are you thinking of reasons why you can’t get published? Excuses, Hurdles to Jump, Obstacles. Your underground thoughts might go like this:

  1. Money is tight. No one is publishing paperback books now.
  2. No one, but no one is publishing picture books now.
  3. If books cost more $16.99 or more, no one is going to buy it.
  4. No one understands my humor.
  5. You have to be a well-known artist to illustrate children’s books.
  6. Only famous people get books published easily.
  7. Publishers and agents don’t reply.
  8. All I get from publishers and agents is no.
  9. I don’t have time to write.
  10. I’m not going to change my manuscript for anybody.

You can see from looking at these that the author/illustrator would have a difficult time not because of what someonelse is thinking about his work. It’s the author/illustrator’s thoughts that are rejecting the work before it even leaves his house. Change your thoughts to be more receptive to a yes. Send out good vibrations.

  1. Money may be tight for many publishers. However, there is a publisher who will publish my book in paperback.
  2. Some publishers are not publishing picture books. Some publishers are publishing picture books. There is a publisher that gives me a contract to publish my picture book.
  3. Publishers found a cheaper way to market my books.
  4. Editors, Agents, and readers understand my humor.
  5. I am a talented artist. I illustrate children’s books.
  6. My books are published. It was easy.
  7. Publishers and agents reply to my queries.
  8. Publishers and agents offer me numerous contracts. I receive mostly yes responses from publishers and agents.
  9. I have time to write.
  10. I change the things I agree 100% about changing in my manuscript for my editor. I listen to the logic behind the editor’s reasons for wanting to change my manuscript.

After you’ve gotten your focus on what you want and your thoughts in a positive mode, send out your manuscript.

More PubSub3rdFri blog posts: https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/category/writing/pub-sub-3rd-fri/,

Week One,

Week Two,

Week Three Pub Sub Friday

Week Four – Read, educate, and motivate yourself. (Blog to come soon)

Submit your work. You are worth it. Good luck with all your publication endeavors.

*During July, I’ll send you a copy of Joan’s Plot Diagram if you add a comment to the Winner of Joan’s Plot Diagram post http://wp.me/pFnvK-y4  and tell me that you’d like to receive it.

*Sign up for an email subscription from the left hand column. If
you’re the 50th subscriber, you will win a choice of a free paperback
copy of Flip Flap Floodle or a 1001 Ways to Market Your Books by John
Kremer. Forty-one people have signed up, so far.

Never Give Up
Celebrate Where You Are
Joan Y. Edwards

http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

Copyright © 2004-2011 Joan Y. Edwards

4 Responses

  1. Joan,

    I love the positive spin on things. Clever! Thanks for continuing to encourage us to submit.

    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda, I’m glad you liked the positive spin on the things we hear and what we think. It does make a difference. Do something good for you. Enjoy Life’s Journey Don’t Give Up Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. Great blog post! I love your positive energy! It really helps to redirect negative thoughts.

    Like

    • Dear Stacy,
      Thanks for visiting my blog. I’m glad you it filled you with positive energy to help redirect negative thoughts. Good luck with your writing endeavors and your venture to help people eat healthier.
      Do something good for you!
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

