• Blog Stats

    • 479,338 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Winner of Joan’s Plot Diagram


Linda Andersen won a copy of my Plot Diagram and description. Linda, thanks for believing in yourself and submitting your work to a publisher during June. I am proud of your accomplishments. I hope the diagram helps you write your stories with a clearer focus.  Thank you to all who left comments on my blog posts.

I assume there are many of you who are submitting your work, but you haven’t been letting me know. That’s good. That’s okay. The point is that I want to inspire you to believe in yourself and your writing and submit more often. Many of you may be shy. You might think you seem to be bragging if you let me know. I don’t see it as bragging. I see it as celebrating you.

During June, did you submit your work for a critique or contest, or to a publisher, editor, or agent? Please answer the poll at this link.

*During July, I’ll send you a copy of Joan’s Plot Diagram if you add a comment to this blog post and tell me that you’d like to receive it.

*Sign up for an email subscription from the left hand column. If you’re the 50th subscriber, you will win a choice of a free paperback copy of Flip Flap Floodle or a 1001 Ways to Market Your Books by John Kremer.  Forty-one people have signed up, so far.

Never Give Up
Joan Y. Edwards
http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

Copyright © 2004-2011 Joan Y. Edwards

18 Responses

  1. Hi Joan,

    Thanks for announcing me as a winner. I’m sure many more of your blogging friends submitted, but just didn’t get around to telling you so. I’m glad they have a chance to try again for a copy of your plot plan.

    I especially like the step in your plan that reminds us to show the emotional reaction of the main character before he solves his problem. I also like the diagram. It helps us keep the steps in our head.

    Thanks again,
    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda, You’re very welcome. I’m glad my diagram helps you keep the steps of a story in your head. That was my hope in creating it. Hurray! Do something good for you today Enjoy Life’s Journey Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. I’ve never submitted a novel-length project-I’m in semi-final edits of one that I hope to send out in the next six months-but I’ve submitted a couple of short stories to magazines and many more for critique.

    I’d love to check out this plot diagram.

    Thanks,
    ~Dianna

    Like

    • Dear Dianna, Thank you for writing. I’m sending to your email listed in this comment a copy of my “Joan’s Plot Diagram” and explanation. I hope you enjoy it and find it helpful. Enjoy Life’s Journey

      Don’t Give Up – Read my blog – http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  3. Dear Joan,
    I didn’t have a good experince with my first book and am hopeing this next book will do better.
    I would very much like to have a copy of “Joan’s Plot Diagram”

    Thanking you in advance,
    June
    JunePhyllis Baker @aol.com

    Like

    • Dear June, Thanks for writing. I checked out your book, “No Regrets” on Amazon. I love your title and I like the cover, too. I am sending you a copy of “Joan’s Plot Diagram and Explanation.” Please let me know if you think it helps you have a clear idea of how a story has to go. Do something good for you. Celebrate being where you are!

      You Are Priceless Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  4. I’d love to have your Plot Diagram! Send it to me at annepoptart67@yahoo.com

    Anne

    Like

    • Dear Anne,
      Thanks for writing. I sent you a copy of “Joan’s Plot Diagram and Explanation.” Please let me know here if it helps you have a clear idea of how your story has to go. Celebrate who you are now!
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  5. I’d appreciate having a copy of your plot diagram. I’m currently in the throws of re-writing a prose middle grade novel into a novel in verse–something that suits me. So I’d love to see if I’m following your plot steps.
    Thanks for all the inspiration you share with all of us.

    Like

    • Dear Joy, Thanks for reading my blog and requesting a copy of Joan’s Plot Diagram. I sent it to your email address shown on this comment. You’re welcome. I’m glad that you believe my words are inspiring. Celebrate yourself today! You are a jewel.

      Never Give Up Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  6. Joan! I loved the “Sticky Notes” article! And your creative and inspiring display on your memo board! I have downloaded my trial copy and look forward to using it! I would love to have a copy of your plot diagram! Thanks for sharing it! And for always giving us so many great and useful ideas, inspirational thoughts, and motivational messages!

    Like

    • Dear Ann, As your requested, I sent you a copy of “Joan’s Plot Diagram.” Please let me know in a comment here if it helps you and how. Thanks for reading my blog post about Post-It Digital Notes and Sticky Notes and for taking time from your busy schedule to leave a comment. I’m glad you liked the memo board. I’m glad you downloaded the trial copy of 3M’s Post-It Digital Notes. I believe you’ll enjoy it. If not, at the end of 30 days, you can just delete it from your computer, right? Nothing ventured, nothing gained. Thanks for your compliments about my ideas being useful. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

      Do something fun for yourself today. Relax. Dream. Laugh. Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  7. This is interesting. I would love to see a copy of your ‘plot diagram’. Plotting continues to baffle me. I have to write pantser style, and then edit my way into plot form. I have short stories out on submission. I received word yesterday – my new novella is being contracted.

    Best wishes,
    Cher
    cher438lynn at hotmail dot com

    Like

    • Dear Cher,
      Thanks for writing. I sent you a copy of my plot diagram and explanation. I hope it helps you have a clearer vision of the parts of each story you write. I hope it helps you soar into publication. Please write here and let me know what you think of it. Do something fun for yourself today!

      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

      • Joan, Thanks for the copy of your plot diagram. It’s always helpful to another’s take on plotting. I especially like your ‘normal day’, ‘better normal day’ thought to the basic plot layout. Best wishes, Cher

        Like

        • Dear Cher, Thanks for reading my blog, requesting my plot diagram, and sending me your opinion of it. I’m glad my plot diagram and explanation helped build a concept of normal day at the beginning and a better normal day at the end. Good luck with every aspect of your writing career. Do something fun to celebrate your writing talents today.

          Never Give Up http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

          Joan Y. Edwards

          Like

  8. Joan, I’d love to have a copy of your Plot Diagram. I need to all the tools I can get. LOL Thanks for all you do for your fellow writers!

    Jeanne

    Like

    • Dear Jeanne, Thanks for reading my blog and for asking for a copy of my plot diagram. I sent it to you. Please leave a post here telling me what you think of it. Please tell me if one part was especially meaningful and helpful to you. Have a fun Sunday afternoon celebrating your talents as a writer! Never Give Up Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

