• Blog Stats

    • 489,431 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Now I Lay My Manuscript Down


Now I Lay My Manuscript Down

by Joan Y. Edwards

Now I lay my manuscript down.

I’ve carried it all over town.

I went up Broadway, 5th and Vine.

I wish Simon and Schuster Publisher was mine.

Now I turn my computer on

It’s more fun writing than mowing the lawn.

I open a new Word document there.

Great ideas come out of thin air.

Now my characters leap to a page

From the present or from a past age.

Their fights and quarrels stir up intriguing scenes.

Readers love them more than eating their greens.

Now I give my stories beginnings, middles, and ends.

Soon they’ll have readers for their best friends.

These friends will read them many times over.

They’ll even read them while lying in clover.

Now I get a telephone call.

“You want to publish my story after all.

I pray that God will bless you sweet.

I’m bowing humbly at your feet.”

“Now I jump for joy and bliss.

I’m blowing you a kiss.”

“You’re sending me a contract by mail.

I’m so excited. My heart’s setting sail.”

Now I thank God for fulfilling my dreams.

I’m just about ready to pop at my seams.

After I dance on the ceiling for an hour,

I’ll relax with a bubble bath or shower.

Now I lay me down to sleep.

I count new books, instead of  sheep.

At fifty thousand I thank God once more.

I finally relax and begin to snore.

Now I sleep til tomorrow comes.

Another beginning, a new beat of the drums.

I live from dawn to dusk and dusk til dawn.

I enjoy the moments before they are gone.

I wrote this poem for you, Readers. I hope you enjoy it.

Remember to submit your work.

Please subscribe to my blog. Thanks.

Please leave a comment.  I would be honored if you would.

  • **Sign up for an email subscription from the left hand column. If you’re the 50th subscriber, you will win a choice of a free paperback copy of Flip Flap Floodle or a 1001 Ways to Market Your Books by John Kremer. Forty-One people have signed up, so far. We are getting closer. Who will the 50th subscriber be?
  • For a chance to win a FREE CRITIQUE: Submit your work to a critique group (individual), publisher, agent, or contest during May and leave a comment on the May PubSub blogpost: http://wp.me/pFnvK-uo before midnight on May 31. I’ll add your name and your personal blog/website (if you have one) on the Pub Subbers page on my blog. I will choose a random winner and announce it by 12:00 noon EST on June 1, 2011. In your comment, give me the following information:
    Title of Project
    Name of Individual or Group Doing Critique, Contest, Publisher, Editor, Agent
    Date you submitted
    Email or Snail Mail
    Your Name
    Link to Your Personal Website or Blog

Copyright © 2011 Joan Y. Edwards. All Rights Reserved.

4 Responses

  1. Joan,
    Your poem is really great
    the rhyme and meter are first-rate .
    When you write, don’t hesitate,
    send it to us, we can’t wait.
    Your writing is full of hope, and cheery
    that is why we love you dearly.

    You are unique.

    JOY

    Like

    • Dear Joy,
      What a sweet empowering poem! I’m glad you like to read my poems and stories. You make me smile. The smile carries me for a mile. I am filled with hope and cheerfulness for all of us.

      There is an abundance of publishers for all of our stories. We’re all so different, but yet we’re the same.

      I love finding ways to help myself and others think outside the box of limitations we sometimes create for ourselves. God has a way for us to reach our goals. We have to look for it. Visualize it and then take action to walk toward it.

      Just like writing a poem, you get the idea, visualize it in your head, search for the words, they come seemingly from thin air, your imagination and resources, and voila you have the poem.

      You might have to dress up the finished product but there is something that didn’t use to be. Truly amazing. You inspired me to write a bunch. You might have to stop in the middle to eat your lunch.

      Do something good for you today!
      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. Hi Joan,

    I love the title. It reminds me of the children’s prayer of “Now I lay me down to sleep.”

    I agree with you that writing is more fun than mowing the lawn, but somebody’s got to do it. 😦

    Thanks for encouraging us to submit and anticipate publication. What a fun reminder.

    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda, I’m glad you liked the title. That’s the prayer rhyme that came to mind before I wrote this. The words on how to make a rhyme with sleep and keep didn’t come, so I went in another direction. It was fun. Hurray for all lawn mowers and people who cut the grass. Thanks for writing. Good luck with your publishing goals. Your publication date is getting closer. Do something good for you today. Celebrate.

      Enjoy Life’s Journey Never Give Up Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

