Take a Chance on You, Submit Your Ideas, Send a Query (PubSub3rdFri)


Dear Pub Subbers,

Submit that manuscript. You can do it. Take an active step.  Put the finishing touches on your query. Follow the publisher or agent’s guidelines. Email it or put it in the U.S. Mail as soon as you can.

I am a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators. I thought it would be good to ask them if they would be interested in publishing an article about PubSub3rdFri. On February 20, 2011, I queried bulletin@scbwi.org. Two days later, Editor, Stephen Mooser wrote back saying he didn’t think that article would work; however, an article about groups that give deadlines might work. He said that they published a similar article in the Bulletin a year or so ago and that it might have updates.

The answer was a “No,” but, in that no was a “Yes.” I researched what he was interested in. I downloaded all the SCBWI Bulletins from the SCBWI website. I searched the pdf files for articles listing deadlines. I came up empty handed. Therefore, I wrote Mooser back and asked if he could tell me the title of the article and the year it was published. He replied with the title and date of the article. Now, I was in business.  I wrote thanking him and told him I was going to work on the article he proposed.  When I finished, I sent him the article. He wrote back saying that it was too long…that they have a word limit of 750 words.

I revamped my proposed article making it shorter. On March 31, 2011 I sent him two choices: one short, one shorter. On April 15, 2011 I received an email from Mooser  saying my article entitled, “Find Your Creative Edge,” will appear in a future SCBWI bulletin. Isn’t that cool? What is even better is that I was able to incorporate PubSub3rdFri into the article. What is even better than that?  I’ll get paid. I will receive $50.00 check and free membership for the next year. Awesome.

Why am I telling you this?

I want you to take a chance on you and your ideas. Allow yourself a chance. Celebrate yourself and your ideas. It’ll empower you to the next step to publication. Come on. Join me. Take a chance on you. Submit your ideas. Send a query for your manuscript or article within the next month. Go for it. Now!

Never Give Up!
Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2011 Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

 

4 Responses

  1. HI Joan,

    I think it’s terrific that your query led to an assignment. That’s a great feeling, isn’t it?

    Here’s my second submission this month:
    A teacher’s guide
    April 21, 2011
    July/August Cobblestone magazine
    Email
    Linda Andersen

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for writing and for being happy for me. It is a great feeling to have a query lead to an accepted article for publication.
      Thanks for letting us know about your second PubSub submission for April. Hurray for you! You really worked many long hours on this July/August Cobblestone magazine. Go, Linda, Go.

      Like

  2. Congratulations on your success. I’ll be watching for the article in a future issue. You’ve also inspired me to get busy and submit what I’ve been putting off. Thanks.

    Like

    • Dear Beverly,
      Thanks for the congratulations and for watching for the article in a future issue of SCBWI Bulletin.
      I am very excited that I’ve inspired you to take action and submit what you’ve been putting off. Go ahead. Do it. You can do it. You can do it NOW.
      You made me smile.
      Joan Y. Edwards
      http://www.joanyedwards.com

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

