• Blog Stats

    • 479,338 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

And the Winners of a Free Critique Are


PubSub3rdFri Participant

Dear Pub Subbers:

I listed contestants in the order in which I received notice about their submissions. I used Random.org to choose a random number from one to three.

Here are the contestants who let me know in March that they PubSubbed in 2010:

1. Joel Shulkin
2. Laura Boffa
3. MaryAm Tabibzadeh

#3 won. The winner is MaryAm Tabibzadeh.

Here are the contestants who let me know in March that they PubSubbed in January or February 2011

1. Joel Shulkin
2. Sarah Maury Swan
3. Maryam Tabibzadeh

#1 won. The winner is Joel Shulkin.

Here are the contestants who let me know in March that they PubSubbed in March 2011

1. Linda Andersen
2. Kavitha Thomas
3. Joel Shulkin

#1 won. The winner is Linda Andersen.

Congratulations to all of you for believing in yourself and submitting your work. Thank you for sharing your experiences. They help to encourage others on the road to publication.

Congratulations to all the winners. You can send me 1500 words to critique in Word doc format to my email address:  Ask me from 3-10 questions about your work so I can know where to focus my critique. Tell me the genre, audience, and word count, number your pages,

I’m going to add these names to the list of 2010 and 2011 Pub Subbers. I’m going to combine them into one page. It’ll make it easier to access.  I believe all of the above people have agreed that I can add your name on the Pub Subber page. If not, please let me know. I’ll remove your name.

Go forth and submit your work again!

Joan Y. Edwards
http://www.joanyedwards.com

Win a free paperback copy of Flip Flap Floodle or a 1001 Ways to Market Your Books by John Kremer by being the 50th person to sign up for an email subscription from the “Sign me up” block at the top of the left hand column. When you click on the email subscription link, if you have a WordPress blog, it lists your blog. If not, it lists your email address.   I have 37 people signed up now as of today. I am honored that so many have subscribed. Thank you.

6 Responses

  1. Thank you so much for your review, Joan! You made some great suggestions and I’ll be considering all of them as I go back and see how to revise my ms. Thanks again!

    Like

    • Dear Joel, I am so glad that my review of your manuscript contained suggestions you thought were great! I’m glad you’re considering all of them to see how to revise your manuscript. I look forward to seeing it in print. Be sure and let me know when that day comes. Do something good to celebrate you today!.

      Joan Y. Edwards Website http://www.joanyedwards.com

      Like

  2. HI Joan,

    I am definitely going to make some revisions thanks to your critique of my rhyming picture book manuscript. I appreciate the answers to questions I asked and I appreciate the questions you sent me to think about. This kept us both thinking!

    Thanks so much,
    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,

      I’m glad that you thought I did a good job on my critique of your rhyming picture book manuscript. Thanks for letting me know. I’m glad you like the way I answered your questions and posed other questions for you to consider in revising it. Good luck going up the path to its publication. Hip Hip Hooray for you! Go for it! Take chances. Think outside the box.

      Joan Y. Edwards Website http://www.joanyedwards.com

      Like

  3. Dear Joan,

    Thanks for the critiquing my first chapter. Most of your suggestion was wise and wonderful. I will take a note and apply them.
    There were two things I like to clarify:
    1- Hussein,(As an American reader, I am prejudiced to think that this guy Hussein is a bad guy.) At first I was amused
    How can a name which is our president’s middle name be a bad guy name? Of course that is prejudiced and these people will not read my book for the same reason; however I realized that this kind of person can be the agent or the editor
    Yes, I think I will change the name thanks.
    2- DOES TAR STAND FOR GUITAR: No Tar is not Guitar. Tar is a Persian music instrument that is used in Iran for a long time and even may be before the Chris.
    Thanks again

    Maryam

    Like

    • Dear Maryam,
      Thanks for writing. I’m glad you thought most of my suggestions were good. Make sure you agree 100% with my ideas and others before you incorporate them into YOUR story. Good luck with your book. I’m proud of you! Do something fun today!
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

