• Blog Stats

    • 462,645 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

A Hubcap Adventure


Dear Honored Readers,

In 1959 after my sophomore year in college, I worked in Washington, DC and lived with friends in Falls Church, Va.

I was driving along in my Gray 1950 Plymouth on the Washington Parkway heading towards Fairfax, Virginia when I heard a hubcap roll on the highway. In my rear view mirror, I saw a glimmer of it go down the hill towards the Potomac River. I laughed thinking someone lost a hubcap. Then I happened to notice that there were no cars in front of me and no cars behind me. Who was it that had lost a hubcap? Me.

I drove to the nearest turn around area, drove back to Rosslyn and turned back on the highway. I stopped to see if I could find my errant hubcap. I scoured the hills all up, down, and around the area where I heard and saw the hubcap roll down the hill. I couldn’t find it. Alas and Alack. It must have rolled down the hill and gone into the Potomac River.

The next Christmas when I flew to visit my parents near Chicago, Illinois, I went to a junk yard and bought a matching hubcap for my 1950 Plymouth. I put it in my suitcase and wondered what the baggage people who scanned my suitcase would think about a college girl having a hubcap in her suitcase. I thought they probably had a good laugh.

When I got back to College at Western Carolina University, I put the new hubcap on my 1950 Plymouth. I was a happy camper.

I was so glad that my grandmother, Mother Meyer, had taught me to laugh at situations when you play tricks on yourself. I have used this gift of laughter many times in my life. I have also had times when it took me a long time to be able to laugh at situations in my life.  And probably a few I’ve never learned to laugh at. I like it better when I can laugh at myself and the situation I am in.

Do something good for yourself today. Smile, giggle, laugh. It’s fun and it’s healing, too.

Joan Y. Edwards

http://www.joanyedwards.com

It’ll put a smile on my face, if you leave a comment after all the subject tags below.

How to win a free book or free critique:

1. Win a free paperback copy of Flip Flap Floodle or a 1001 Ways to Market Your Books by John Kremer by being the 50th person to sign up for an email subscription from the “Sign me up” block at the top of the left hand column. When you click on the email subscription link, if you have a WordPress blog, it lists your blog. If not, it lists your email address.   I have 35 people signed up now as of today.

2. For a chance to win a free critique,  submit your work in March, then leave a comment on the Pub Sub Page for March post with title of project, name of contest, publisher, editor, or agent; date you submitted, sent by email or snail mail, your name, and your personal blog/website. I’ll add your name to the Pub Subbers 2011 page, if you like. It’s just a way to reward yourself for submitting. I thought it would be cool to advertise your courage. We can also tell how many people are Pub Subbing.  We can see our group grow. I’ll choose a random winner and announce it at noon EST on April 1, 2011.

3. Want to win a free critique, tell me you submitted work to a publisher, editor, or agent during 2010. I’ll put you on the Pub Subbers 2010 page and enter your name for a chance to win. Email me at my email address listed in the left-hand column before April 1, 2011.  I’ll choose a random winner and announce it at noon EST on April 1, 2011.

Copyright © 2011 Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors

6 Responses

  1. Hi Joan,

    No hubcap stories to tell, but I do like laughing when I need cheering up. Good words of advice from your grandmother. How precious that she passed on the gift of laughter. It’s a priceless gift that never wears out.

    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda, Good to hear that laughter cheers you up when you’re down. Thanks for being grateful as I am for my grandmother’s passing on her gift of laughter to me. Do something good for you today.

      Joan Y. Edwards, Author/Illustrator Website http://www.joanyedwards.com

      Like

  2. Joan – Your hubcab adventure was delightful. I laughed right along with you when you described the scene as you reminisced. Never stop your blog – your messages are an inspiration to me and I love you!!
    Claire

    Like

    • Dear Claire,
      I’m glad you laughed along with me as I described the scene. It was funny! He who laughs first sometimes is tricked by unbeknownst circumstances! Thanks for saying my messages are an inspiration to you. And that you love me. I’m bowing humbly and sending you a great big hug. Thanks for leaving a comment. I really like it when people like you take the time to comment. It makes me smile, smile, smile.

      Joan Y. Edwards, Author/Illustrator
      Website http://www.joanyedwards.com

      Like

  3. Thanks Joan, I needed a smile! Your joy and optimism are contagious. 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Lara, It’s so good to hear from you. I’ve been missing you. I’m glad you got a smile from my “Hubcap Adventure.” You always bring a smile to my face. You’re an inspiration to me. Good luck with your writing and your move north. Do something good for you.

      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

