• Blog Stats

    • 478,710 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

You Have the Luck of the Irish – Submit a Manuscript Today (PubSub3rdFri)


Dear Pub Subbers,
It’s the luck of the Irish. Submit a manuscript on the third Friday of March or any month. If you’re not Irish, it’s still a lucky fun-filled day for you. Get that creative work ready and send it off the next third Friday that rolls around. Submit regularly and often to raise your chances of being published.

I’d like to share a little personal history of my submissions. In 2009, before I started PubSub3rdFri, I submitted four times. All four had negative responses of “NO.”
In 2010 after I started PubSub3rd Fri, I submitted 30 times.
As a result of pitching to an agent and 2 editors at online/in-person interviews, I got three “YES, I want to see your manuscript” responses, followed by two “NO, Your manuscript does not meet our needs.” However, one publishing company editor responded in 2011 that they are tentatively interested in publishing “Joan’s Elder Care Guide.” That is one “MAYBE.” This is farther than I’d gotten previously.
As a result of a query to Working Writer Newsletter for an article about PubSub3rdFri, I received a “YES.”
Out of the 30 submissions, 4 answers were “YES.” Four out of 30 equals 13% Yes. That is really an improvement.
87% said, “NO.” However, I’m going to focus on the 13% Yes.

Do I have a book accepted by a publishing company yet? No. Does submitting more often improve your chances of getting a “YES?” I think so. Has my writing and my understanding of the getting published process improved? Yes. Am I getting closer? Yes, I believe I am. My belief is half the battle.

I truly want each of us to get published. In inspiring you, I find encouragement for myself.

I’m making a list of people who submitted work because of PubSub3rdFri during 2010. If you submitted and want to be listed on the  Pub Subbers 2010 list, please email me at the address listed in the left-hand column with your name and blog/website. Tell me at least one title, place you submitted to, date submitted, and whether it was by email or snail mail. Tell me your name and blog/website.  If you don’t have a blog/website, I’ll just list your name. I’ll choose a Pub Subber 2010 member at random to win a free critique  on April 1, 2011 at noon EST.

For all of you who participate in PubSub3rdFri during 2011, I’d like to list your name and a link to your website/blog on a Pub Subbers 2011 page on this blog. If you don’t have a blog or website, I’ll list your name by itself.

To be eligible to win a free critique during March
1. Submit a manuscript for a picture book, chapter book, middle grade, young adult novel, adult novel, play, movie, song, puzzle, article, illustration, query, proposal to a publisher, editor, agent, or contest.
2. Make a comment below with the following information:
Title of Project
Name of Contest, Publisher, Editor, Agent
Date you submitted
Email or Snail Mail
Your Name
Link to Your Personal Website or Blog
3. Your name will be put in a drawing to receive a FREE CRITIQUE by me. The winner will be announced on April 1, 2011 at 12:00 noon EST.
4. Your name and your personal blog/website will be listed on a Pub Subbers 2011 page on my blog. If you don’t have a blog or website, I’ll list your name by itself.

I hope you’ll join us in Pub Sub 3rd Fri. Our goal commitment is to submit an article, poem, puzzle, devotion, illustration, short story, picture book, chapter book, middle grade novel, young adult novel, adult novel, play, song, or movie to a publisher on the third Friday of each month for a whole year. Of course, you can submit your work to more than one publisher or agent a month.

Honor your dreams by submitting a manuscript this month. It’ll get you started. If you do it at least three months in a row, I believe you’ll be creating a life-long habit. It’ll start your ball rolling to knock down all the publication pins in your alley.

Believe in yourself. Your belief will spread to others who will believe in you, too. All of your experiences will lead you to be a stronger person, wiser, skilled, and energetic. Your belief is half your battle. I know for sure that publishers do not come searching the drawers or computers where your manuscripts or other creative works are hidden in your home. You have to let them know about your creative treasures. Take action. Submit to publishers and/or agents. Celebrate each step on your path to publication!

Here are steps for each week to get you ready to submit your work to a publisher or agent: say, “I can do it.” Let me hear you shout, “Yes, yes. I can do it. I have the power to do it. I CAN DO IT.”

Get your manuscript, and use the resources below to accomplish your Pub Sub 3rd Fri goal:

Steps for Week One Smile, Giggle, Laugh . See the humor.
1. Read this book or a similar one, or search online publisher/agent websites for current guidelines.

Jeff Herman’s Guide to Book Publishers, Editors, and Literary Agents 2011: Who They Are! What They Want! How to Win Them Over! by Jeff Herman

http://www.amazon.com/Hermans-Publishers-Editors-Literary-Agents/dp/1402243375/

2. Choose three publishers/agents to submit a manuscript/query letter/illustration.

a. Read the guidelines of all three publishers/agents.

b. Select the publisher/agent to use this month.

c. Print out a copy of the publisher’s guidelines and save it in your submissions folder.

3. Fine tune your manuscript.

a. Use spell and grammar check with your manuscript.

b. Look for four errors in your manuscript. Read my blog for common errors you might miss unless you search for them: https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2010/09/27/look-for-four-writing-errors-when-you-revise/

c. If you’ve been to a writing conference, revise three places in your manuscript using a skill or technique taught that you think will improve it.

d. Here are fourteen books that may help you with your writing skills. They are listed in alphabetical order according to author’s first name. If you click on the title, it’ll take you to Amazon.com. Check out the book from your local library for free or buy it at a book store (local or online). I’ve read all of these books. They each contain excellent advice and tips for beginning and improving your story. Little by little the information and skills soak into your mind. Your skills and knowledge improve. You’ll be able to tell when you’re critiquing someone’s work or reading your favorite book. You’ll say to yourself, “AHA. That’s how to do it.” Your writing gets better. Your critiquing improves. You move one step closer to publication. Even published writers continue to learn more about the craft of writing by reading.

1. Darcy Pattison: Novel Metamorphosis
2. Donald Maass: The Fire in Fiction
3. Donald Maass: Writing the Breakout Novel
4. Donald Maass: Writing the Breakout Novel Workbook
5. James N. Frey How to Write a Damn Good Novel
6. James N. Frey How to Write a Damn Good Novel, II
7. James N. Frey How to Write a Damn Good Mystery
8. James N. Frey The Key: How to Write Damn Good Fiction Using the Power of Myth
9. Karl Iglesias: Writing for Emotional Impact
10. Margaret Lucke: Schaum’s Quick Guide to Writing Great Short Stories
11. Noah Lukeman: The First Five Pages
12. Jordan E. Rosenfeld: Make a Scene
13. Katharine Sands: Making the Perfect Pitch
14. Remni Browne and Dave King: Self-Editing for Fiction Writers

Week Two Steps for Pub Sub 3rd Fri Smile, Giggle, Laugh .

1. Let your manuscript sit a week in an incubator while you do your query or cover letter, resume, and proposal.

2. If the guidelines say to write a query letter, then write your query letter.

3. If you’re submitting a manuscript or article, write a cover letter to accompany it.

a. Include a strong pitch for your manuscript in your cover letter. A pitch is a 25 word eye-catching, heart-trapping summary of your book or article to hook the attention of the reader, agent, and/or editor. Refer to my blog for more information about writing your pitch: https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/2010/07/29/how-to-entice-an-editoragent-with-a-pitch-logline.

b. In your cover letter, mention one book, article, or illustration similar to yours and how yours hooks readers and attracts them to it. Each time you write a cover letter, you will improve.

c. If you’re a member of SCBWI, mention that fact in your cover letter. SCBWI has a great reputation with publishers.

d. If this is an exclusive submission, write that in your cover letter. “This is an exclusive submission for three months. On (date 3 months from your submission) I am submitting it to other publishers.” For exclusive submission with an agent, you can limit the time to two months or six weeks. Their guidelines might give you an idea of how much time they usually take. I think giving them a time, keeps you from wondering and gives them reason to respect your choice.

4. Write your resume.

a. Include your snail mail address, phone number, email address, website, blog.

b. List all memberships in professional organizations.

c. Include all of your publishing credits.

5. If needed, write your proposal.

Steps for Week Three Smile, Giggle, Laugh:

1. Read out loud a printed out (hard copy) of your manuscript. Make all necessary changes.

2. Print out your manuscript again. Read it aloud, again. Then read it from the bottom to the top, and from right to left. This will help you notice more errors that your might not notice in other ways.

3. If you see errors, correct them.

4. Print out the GO FOR IT copy of manuscript, cover letter, resume, and/or proposal.

5. Put one copy of manuscript, cover letter, resume, and/or proposal in 9×12 envelope

6. Print out and save another copy of manuscript, cover letter, resume, and/or proposal in a folder called “Submitted Manuscripts.”

7. Make sure you put your snail mail address, phone number, email address, website, and blog on your cover letter, proposal, query, and/or manuscript. If it’s an email submission, follow the publisher/editor/agent guidelines about attachments. Many publishers do not accept attachments. Follow their guidelines.

8. Print out label for 9×12 inch envelope – use the mailing address in publisher’s guidelines. If it is an exclusive submission, mark it as such on the outside of the envelope.

9. Enclose a stamped self-addressed envelope, if the guidelines ask for one.

10. Put sufficient postage on the envelope.

11. Leave the envelope with all the items inside over night (24 hours is good).

Pub Sub 3rd Friday Laugh, Smile, Laugh
12. Check your manuscript, cover letter, proposal, and resume Friday morning.

13. Put addressed, stamped envelope with your PUB SUB in a mailbox or email. Say a prayer. Ask God to bless this submission. Say to yourself: I allow myself to receive a positive response, such as, “Yes, I’d like to publish this manuscript.”

Dance! Sing! Celebrate Your Submission!

Each time you submit, you will get better and better. In case you’re not ready on the third Friday of this month, go to my website and print out a rain check: http://www.joanyedwards.com/pubsub3rdfri.htm.

See my other Pub Sub 3rd Fri blog posts for more information: https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com/category/writing/pub-sub-3rd-fri.

To those of you who are reading this. Thank you. I am honored. Good luck in publishing your work. For more encouragement to submit your work, read Linda Andersen Is Proof That PubSub3rdFri Works. Let me know if Pub Sub 3rd Fri helps you get published. I’d love to hear from you. Feel free to share a link to my blog with others.

1. Sign up for an email subscription from the “Sign me up” block at the top of the left hand column. 2. If you want to be listed on the Pub Subbers 2012 list, email me at the address listed in the left-hand column with your name and blog/website. If you don’t have a blog/website, I’ll just list your name.

Never Give Up!
Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2011 Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

22 Responses

  1. Hi Joan,

    Impressive stats! Congratulations on all your achievments and “yes” responses. You keep believing in yourself. It’s coming! Can’t you feel it?

    All my best!
    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thank you for believing in me and sharing in my joy and helping me climb up out of the down times. Do something good for you today.
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  2. Hi Joan,

    I have done some pubsubbing. Woo-hoo!

    1.Cobblestone Teacher Guide for April 2011– submitted on March 10, 2011 by email
    2.Rebus to Humpty Dumpty–submitted on March 15, 2011 by postal mail.

    Please enter me in the drawing.

    Linda Andersen

    Like

    • Dear Linda, Congratulations! I am very proud of you. I have entered your name in the contest for a free critique for March Pub Subbers. Yee Haw for believing in yourself and increasing your chances of being published.

      Have a Flip Flap Floodle Day!

      Joan Y. Edwards, Author/Illustrator

      Flip Flap Floodle at Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Flip-Flap-Floodle-Joan-Edwards/dp/1594572852/ Website http://www.joanyedwards.com Never Give Up Blog http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

      Like

  3. Hi Joan,

    I sent another submission. This one is for Pockets and was sent through the postal service on March 18, 2011.

    The fiddler hasn’t given up on me yet. He’s still performing! Please enter my name in the drawing for a free critique.
    Linda A.

    Like

  4. Dear Linda,
    You’re rocking lady! I’m proud of you. The St. Patrick’s Day leprechaun is playing his fiddle overtime for you. I am so happy you’re submitting so many quality works. I was glad to hear Appleseeds Magazine said, “Yes” to your query to write an article about Willie Sherman, General George Sherman’s son! You go, girl. It won’t be long before you’ll get another “Yes.”

    Like

  5. Hi Joan,

    Thanks so much for being happy for me about the article assignment. I’ll have to get that leprechaun a relief player. He’s as loyal as you are!
    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda, You are so funny. A relief Leprechaun to play the fiddle for you is a good plan! You’re welcome for my being happy for you! It’s my pleasure. Do something good for you!

      Joan Y. Edwards, Author/Illustrator Website http://www.joanyedwards.com

      Like

  6. —–Original Message—–
    From: Kavitha Thomas [mailto:kavithomas12@yahoo.com]
    Sent: Wednesday, March 30, 2011 4:42 PM
    To: joanyedwards@earthlink.net
    Subject: Pub Subber page – Free Critique

    Hurray for Kavitha Thomas
    who submitted on March 11, 2011
    title of project: the elephant’s friend
    name of contest: n/a
    publisher, editor, or agent: agent – jennifer weltz / jean v. naggar literary agency, inc.
    date: 3/11
    sent email/snail mail: email
    name: kavitha thomas
    personal blog/website: n/a

    She is entered into the contest for a free critique.
    A random winner will be chosen at midnight, March 31, 2011 and announced at noon on April 1st.

    Like

  7. Another entry in the contest. Wonderful to have competition. 🙂

    Linda A.

    Like

  8. Dear Linda,
    You’re a trooper. I like your style. Good luck.
    Do something good for yourself.

    Joan Y. Edwards

    Like

  9. “Bloo”, a picture book, submitted to Ethan Ellenberg email 12/14/10 (no response), Brenda Bowen email 12/16/10 (no response), Boyds Mills Press snail mail 12/17/10 (rejected), and Dial books for Young Readers snail mail 3/1/11 (pending response) .

    Also entered children’s poem “Mrs. McGree’s Menagerie” in NCPS’ contest and won first prize for the Caldwell Nixon Award 2/21/11 (poem will appear in NCPS’ magazine Pinesong in May 2011.

    Like

    • Dear Joel,
      Wow! I am very proud of you and your submissions. Submitting pays off. Thanks for entering the contest here.
      There are two chances for you to win a free critique. Once for your submissions in 2010. Once for your submission in March 2011. You are an inspiration.
      I hope your response from Dial Books for Young Readers is YES. May I list your name with the Pub Subbers 2010 and 2011?
      Do something good for you.
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  10. I would love to enter!

    I submitted my picture book manuscript ‘Forgettories’ to Chronicle Books by snail mail on Dec. 30, 2010.

    Thanks for holding this contest and for pushing us to submit – great blog!

    Laura Boffa

    Like

    • Dear Laura,
      Thanks for entering the contest. You are entered into the contest for the people who submitted in 2010. I am proud of you! I like your title. You’re welcome for this contest and for pushing you forward to submit. I’m glad you like my blog. (Smiling inside.) Is it okay if I list your name and website or blog on my PubSubbers Page?
      Do something good for you!
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

  11. Hi Joan, I submitted a query and sample chapters of EMILY’S RIDE TO COURAGE–a middle-grade novel about a timid girl who has to convince her grandfather to buy the horse she wants; deal with her unhappy older sister’s bullying; her Army doctor mother’s disapperance in Afghanistan; and do at least 10 math problems each day–to Chronicle on February 24th by snail mail and by email to the Laura Dail Agency. The agency sent back a form rejection, but it’s still early days to hear back from Chronicle–although they don’t respond if they don’t want the ms. I haven’t set up a website since we moved, nor do I have a blog, so just use my name: Sarah Maury Swan. Thanks, Sarah.

    Like

    • Dear Sarah, Thanks for submitting your information for the contest and letting me post your name with the Pub Subbers 2011. I’m proud of your submissions. What a bummer about the form rejection. Submit it somewhere else. You Go, Sarah. I’ve entered you in the contest for people who submitted in 2011 to win a free critique. Yee Haw. Perhaps the Chronicle answer will be Yes.

      Have a Flip Flap Floodle Day!

      Joan Y. Edwards, Author/Illustrator Flip Flap Floodle at Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Flip-Flap-Floodle-Joan-Edwards/dp/1594572852/ Website http://www.joanyedwards.com Never Give Up Blog http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

      Like

  12. SCBWI-Carolinas List Serve
    Posted by: “Maryam Tabibzadeh” Maryam.Tabibzadeh@sas.com dreamsinpersia
    Thu Mar 31, 2011 7:34 am (PDT)

    Hello Joan,

    I submitted my manuscript to several Agents late 2010 and early 2011. One agent asked for the sample chapter that I sent
    And I am waiting to see what he thinks. I e-mailed most of them except two that I sent snail and received rejection letter
    from one of them. The name of the manuscript is Sangsar. My info is listed below and you have permission to add them to
    Pub Subber page.

    Maryam tabibzadeh
    http://www.persiandreams.org

    Thanks

    Maryam

    Like

  13. Dear Maryam,
    Thanks for submitting your information for the contest and letting me post your name with the Pub Subbers 2010 and 2011. I’m proud of your submissions. What a bummer about the rejection letter. Submit it somewhere else. I’ve entered you in the contest for people who submitted in 2010 and 2011 to win a free critique. Yee Haw. Perhaps the one who asked for the sample chapter will end up being a yes, send me more.

    Do something good for you today.

    Joan Y. Edwards

    Like

  14. Here are the contestants who let me know in March that they PubSubbed in 2010:

    Joel Shulkin
    Laura Boffa
    MaryAm Tabibzadeh

    The winner is MaryAm Tabibzadeh.

    Here are the contestants who let me know in March that they PubSubbed in January or February 2011

    Joel Shulkin
    Sarah Maury Swan
    Maryam Tabibzadeh

    The winner is Joel Shulkin.

    Here are the contestants who let me know in March that they PubSubbed in March 2011

    Linda Andersen
    Kavitha Thomas
    Joel Shulkin

    The winner is Linda Andersen.

    Congratulations to all of you for believing in yourself and submitting your work. Congratulations to all the winners. You can send me 1500 words to critique in Word doc format to my email address: Ask me from 3-10 questions about your work so I can know where to focus my critique. Tell me the genre, audience, and word count.

    Go forth and submit your work again!

    Joan Y. Edwards
    joanyedwards@earthlink.net

    Like

  15. Hi Joan,

    Thank you so much! A free critique! Wow! That’s great! Congratulations to MaryAm and Joel too.

    Thanks also for encouraging all of us to put our work out there.

    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda, You’re very welcome. Thanks for the congratulations for Maryam and Joel, too. It’s exciting. Do something good for you. Joan Y. Edwards, Author/Illustrator Never Give Up Blog http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

