Submit a Query or Manuscript Now: Roll Yourself into Publication (PubSub3rdFri)


PubSub3rdFri is a term for writers/others who submit a query, article, manuscript of their work to publishers on the third Friday of the month. They are also called Pub Subbers.

Dear Pub Subbers and Other Readers,

Submit a query or manuscript today.  It’ll start rolling you into publication.  Each time you submit a query or manuscript, it’ll get easier for you. It’s true each query or manuscript may have a little conflict of its own to handle. However, you can do it. In the broad scope of things, it’s just a piece of paper or an email message. You want to choose the right place for your submissions. You want your query letter to draw the editor to it like a magnet. You want the power of your words to make a lasting impression on the editor or agent who reads it. Your words need to resonate  in his/her mind for days and nights for a very long time.

Once you start submitting, it’ll become a habit. You’ll do it almost without thinking about it. You’ll find places that are a good fit for your publication. You can’t do it with your head in the sand.  An ostrich writer won’t get published unless he takes a chance on himself and on editors and agents.  Take a chance on yourself today. Come on out of the sand.

You say, “I’m too busy today. I’ve got family visiting. I need to help my children get their homework done. I’ve got to go to the grocery store. The mail has already run today. My story’s not good enough. ”

Stop right there. We can all name a million excuses, if we want. They are out there. However, I ask you to take a chance on yourself. If you spend 15 minutes a day, you can write a query. Set the timer. You are worth 15 minutes.

I know that life can get in the way. You can do it later if you need to. Say I can do it. Start working on it. It’ll make you feel better all over.

Today is pubsub3rdfri for October.  If you didn’t submit today or earlier this month, there’s time left.  Give yourself a gift. Submit now.

When you mail it, be sure you give those you ask the right to say “Yes,” and the right to say, “No.”  Sometimes I think I’m ready to accept either answer. However, when I receive a “no,” it upsets me terribly.  If you handle it well, be proud. If you don’t handle the rejection well, allow yourself to grieve for 3 days or more. But, get over it and try, try, try again.  Send another query or manuscript before a week elapses. Many times today publishers do not send a reply at all. If you don’t receive a response within six months, write your own response. Be creative. Write the response you would love to hear. Put it on a wall in front of your computer. Visualize it. It will help you achieve it.

To be published, you must take action. Accept yourself as you are. Accept the editors and agents as they are. Go for it. Send a query or manuscript now! Roll yourself into publication.

I hope  reading my blog inspires you to Never Give Up on yourself or your writing.

Sign up for an email subscription from the “Sign me up” block from the top of the left hand column.

Please leave a comment, question, or resource.  I’d love to hear from you. Feel free to send a link to my blog to others.

Don’t Give Up. Have a Flip Flap Floodle Day!

Joan Y. Edwards

Flip on my website: http://www.joanyedwards.com/FlipFlapFloodle.htm

Flip at Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Flip-Flap-Floodle-Joan-Edwards/dp/1594572852/

Facebook Author Page http://www.facebook.com/pages/Joan-Y-Edwards-Author/111310278911077

Copyright 2010 Joan Y. Edwards. All rights reserved.

8 Responses

  1. Hi Joan,

    I love the idea of taking a chance on myself. I also LOVE the suggestion of writing my own response to an editor who hasn’t responded in six months. How creative! How clever!

    Thanks so much for continuing to post PubSub3rdFri information and for encouraging us to submit regularly.

    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda, You’re welcome for my continued efforts to get people to submit a query, article, or manuscript regularly. I’m glad the idea of writing your own response when you haven’t heard from an editor or agent made you smile. Do something good for yourself.

      Have a Flip Flap Floodle Day!

      Joan Y. Edwards, Author/Illustrator Website: http://www.joanyedwards.com Flip Flap Floodle http://www.joanyedwards.com/FlipFlapFloodle.htm Flip at Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Flip-Flap-Floodle-Joan-Edwards/dp/1594572852/ Never Give Up Blog http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

      Like

  2. Joan, I’ve been attending the Muse online writers conference and have been participating in a forum about queries. As a result I have a query for my rey MG novel all ready to go, and a list of three places to submit to.

    You’ve inspired me. When I get home tonight I’m going to get the names and addresses, print out my queries, and send them off.

    Like

    • Dear Margaret, Thanks for writing. I’m glad you participated in the forum about queries. Hurray for you having one ready to go. I’m glad I inspired you to get the names and addresses, print out your queries, and send them off. It’ll be a great feeling. You will want to do it again and again.

      Have a Flip Flap Floodle Day!

      Joan Y. Edwards, Author/Illustrator Website: http://www.joanyedwards.com Flip Flap Floodle http://www.joanyedwards.com/FlipFlapFloodle.htm Flip at Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Flip-Flap-Floodle-Joan-Edwards/dp/1594572852/ Never Give Up Blog http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

      Like

  3. Good job, Joan! Glad to see you are still blogging and sharing yoru joy with the world!

    Like

    • Dear Donna, Thanks for stopping by to say hello. Thanks for your compliment about my sharing my joy with the world. You spread a lot of joy yourself with your husband and daughters and your writing! Good luck with all that you do.

      Have a Flip Flap Floodle Day!

      Joan Y. Edwards, Author/Illustrator Flip Flap Floodle http://www.joanyedwards.com/FlipFlapFloodle.htm Flip at Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Flip-Flap-Floodle-Joan-Edwards/dp/1594572852/ Never Give Up Blog http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

      Like

  4. […] Submit a Query or Manuscript Now: Roll Yourself into Publication (PubSub3rdFri) (joanyedwards.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    • Dear Kim,
      Thank you for putting a link to my PubSub3rdFri post encouraging writers to submit a query or manuscript now. You honor me by sharing a link to my blog.

      Never Give Up
      Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

