• Blog Stats

    • 468,183 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

How to Get Better at Writing – Rewrite


How to Get Better at Writing – Rewrite
By Joan Y. Edwards
1. Each time you rewrite, say to yourself, “I am getting better and better.” Have a special hat
or shirt to wear when writing.

2. Write something. Rewrite it. Let it rest for 7 days (in a special place). Then get it out
and read it over again.

3. Read your story out loud. You may hear the mistakes you don’t see. Record it on tape and
listen to it. Make notes of what you want to change.

4. Form a writing group with 2 or 3 other people. Listen to what others say. Ask them to
tell you things they don’t understand in your story. Make notes. You want your meaning
to be clear. Clear communication is essential to learning and peace among people. If you
are feeling very sensitive about your story, save that story for another day or ask your
writing group if they will just listen. Do not ask people what they think of your story if
you are not able to handle a YES or a NO. You have to honor their answer when you ask
them for their opinion. Try not to take it personally. Just because people do not like your
story, it does not mean they do not like you.

5. When rewriting, choose to change only those items you think will add to the story. If
someone tells you, if I was writing the story I would…you don’t have to do it. You are
the writer of your story. Ultimately, the choice of words in your story is up to you.
6. Use the computer to edit if you have one. That way you can save a copy of what it was
first. How you changed it second. And the third revision…before publication. Some
people write better with pencil or pen. Honor the way you work best.

7. Even authors who have had books published find things they want to change in their
stories. Be pleased with how you have improved from the beginning. Be kind to yourself.

8. Reward yourself for each step you take. For each time you rewrite a story, put a penny in
a jar, enjoy your favorite game, or serve popcorn as you read it to others. Don’t wait for
someonelse to reward you. Do it yourself.

9. Believe in yourself. Say, “I am a writer. I am an author. I am a published author. I am a
paid published author. I am an author of a book on the New York Best Sellers list.”

10. Set your goals. “Hitch your wagon to a star. Take a seat and there you are.” (Ralph Waldo Emerson) Focus.
Don’t let anyone or anything stop you from your goal. If people say that you can’t do it,
show them you can. Use your talents to reach your goal. Never give up, no matter what. You are the only one who can stop you from reaching your goal.

If you have any questions, please leave a comment below.

Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2010 Joan Y. Edwards. All rights reserved.

4 Responses

  1. Joan,

    I like the idea of a written work being set aside in a special place, not a drawer. That shows you have high regards for it and think it is worthy of a rewrite.

    Linda

    Like

    • Dear Linda, Thanks for leaving a kind comment on my blog. I’m glad you liked my idea of putting your written work in a special place to store your written work while it “incubates for a week.” Good luck with your writing endeavors. Thanks for reading my blog.

      Joan Y. Edwards http://www.joanyedwards.com

      Enjoy Life’s Journey Don’t Give Up – Read my blog – http://www.joanyedwards.com.wordpress.com

      Joan Y. Edwards joanyedwards@earthlink.net 1. Pub Sub 3rd Fri – Submit a manuscript to a publisher on the third Friday of each month. May I count you in? 2. Be like Flip Flap Floodle and say, “I Won’t Give up.” 3. http://www.joanyedwards.com Inspirational devotions, puzzles, and skits for children

      Like

  2. Joan, I keep all my writing online in Google documents. They keep previous revisions and thus I can look at/roll back to a previous version at any time. It also means my work is available from any computer, which I find to be a great convenience. I do agree that setting something aside for at least a couple of days before revising is a good idea.

    Like

    • Dear Margaret, Thanks for reading my blog and posting your comments. Keeping your writing online in Google documents is very wise and special. Keeping your work available from any computer is a life send. Sometimes after I’ve let my work incubate a week, I can see things that I overlooked before. It’s worked well for me, too. Have a great day! Do something good for yourself. Enjoy Life’s Journey Don’t Give Up – Read my blog – http://www.joanyedwards.com.wordpress.com

      Joan Y. Edwards joanyedwards@earthlink.net 1. Pub Sub 3rd Fri – Submit a manuscript to a publisher on the third Friday of each month. May I count you in? 2. Be like Flip Flap Floodle and say, “I Won’t Give up.” 3. http://www.joanyedwards.com Inspirational devotions, puzzles, and skits for children

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

