An Agent wants to see my work


I did my Pub Sub 3rd Fri early for May. I actually had a live pitch session at the Pike’s Peak Writer’s Conference in Colorado Springs, Colorado. I am very excited that Terrie Wolf, an agent from AKA Literary Agency met with me. She wants to see my work. Hip Hip Hooray! I danced around all day Saturday and Sunday at the Conference. I would have danced on the plane home but there wasn’t enough room in the aisles for that.

I sent her “Larry, the Terrifying Turkey.” I am reformatting my “Joan’s Elder Care Guide” to send her. I am also reformatting “Follow Your Immigrant Heart” to send her to match her specifications.

She said she wouldn’t mind seeing all of my writing. Isn’t that just awesome? I am so thankful to God that I was able to meet with her.

Thank you for your encouragement. You have helped get me this far. With your help and God’s help, I’ll make it to being a published writer again. I wrote as work for hire for “Growing with the Gospel” published by Liturgical Publications from 2005-2009. I also was an educational consultant for them. Using my advice they revamped the publication instead of canning it. They ended up selling it as a CDs for all three liturgical years, Cycle A, Cycle B, and Cycle C.

I self-published “Flip Flap Floodle” in 2004. I’ve sold 250 copies of it. The price of self-published books at that time limited the number of sales. Because Amazon bought BookSurge and then dropped BookSurge and switched to Createspace in 2009 as their print on demand publishing company, I’ve been able to drop the price of my paperback book from $16.99 to a lower price of $10.00. Hurray for Createspace for allowing me to do that. It has a laminated cover which makes the paperback last longer.

The hardback is laminated, too. Right now, Createspace is not formatting new hardbacks. However, I can order hardback copies of Flip Flap Floodle. I’d like to sell the ones I have before ordering the new ones. Although the new hardbacks will be cheaper than the other ones. The hardbacks I have are $20.99. The newer price will be cheaper. Not sure what it will be yet. They haven’t allowed me to change the price of the hardback, yet.

Here is a link to order “Flip Flap Floodle” from Amazon.
http://www.amazon.com/Flip-Flap-Floodle-Joan-Edwards/dp/1594572852

If you email me at the address listed near the top of the left-hand column and let me know you ordered my book from Amazon and your snail mail address and who you want it autographed for, I’ll send you an autographed label to put inside the book. If you order a certain amount of books, you get free shipping from Amazon.

My store is down right now. I tried to fix something and messed it up. It’ll be back up before long, but thought you might be happier getting free shipping from Amazon. It would be great if someone would write a review on Amazon for Flip Flap Floodle.

How could I reward people for doing this for me?
Any ideas from you would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for being excited for me. May everything you write bring you a step closer to a paid publication!
May God bless you one and all,
Sincerely,

Joan Y. Edwards
www.joanyedwards.com

Copyright © 2010 Joan Y. Edwards. All rights reserved.

2 Responses

  1. I’m so happy for you!

    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda, Thank you for being happy for me. I appreciate it very much. I’m proud of all the teacher guides you have written for Cobblestone, too. To think you have written six online guides for them in a short time is a wonderful feat in itself. Do something good for yourself today!

      Enjoy Life’s Journey Don’t Give Up – Read my blog – http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

      Joan Y. Edwards joanyedwards@earthlink.net 1. #Pub Sub 3rd Fri – Send a submission to a publisher on the third Friday of each month from February 2010 through January 2011. May I count you in? 2. Buy a copy of Flip Flap Floodle to instill Never Give up Perseverance character trait in your children and grandchildren. 3. Need Inspirational devotions, puzzles, and skits for children at church? Visit http://www.joanyedwards.com

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

