• Blog Stats

    • 479,266 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Find Your Laughing Place


Laughter is good for the soul. It heals you. It brings you endorphins and makes you feel better.
Is your head down? Then you are not getting enough oxygen to your brain.
You’ve heard the term: Keep your chin up.

I notice many people walk around with their heads down.
If your head is down, hold it up. Look around for something to make you smile.

Look at your situation in a different light. In the Bible it says, “There’s a time to laugh.” When you’re feeling down, that’s a great time to get to laugh. Laughter brings in more oxygen. It helps you think better. It keeps you from getting stuck in the sad place. Even Brer Rabbit had a laughing place in the Uncle Remus tales shown in Walt Disney’s “Song of the South.” Find your laughing place. Get five movies that make you laugh. Get five books that make you laugh. Get five books that motivate you to think in a more positive manner. Mark the Bible with passages that fill you with the promise of God’s help.

I know sometimes your wheels don’t roll because they are a little rusty. If you have oil, it rolls easily. Laughter is the oil that moves the wheels of your life forward in a positive manner. God will help you laugh.

I hate it when I’m not able to laugh at myself when I make a mistake. I make plenty of them. I have plenty of opportunities to use humor as a way to get over it.

Have a plan of attack for the next time you find yourself being sad for more than a day. Anthony Robbins says your emotions are signs that you need to take action.

Many times what continues to stall you in this sad mode is that you don’t know what to do. You are afraid that your choice of action might make it worse. If you can let go of the emotional pull of a situation, you instinctively will know exactly what to do. It’s the emotional pull that makes you stick in a situation like glue. It could be this same emotional pull keeps you going in the same rut over and over.

For instance, when I was teaching I got a bad evaluation. I had many emotions all at the same time: angry, embarrassed, sad, overwhelmed. Blame – It would have been nice to have someone to blame my situation on. But it all boiled down to this: I had to accept my part in this situation. I was not responsible for the person who criticized me. I had no control over them. Although, I would have really liked that in a way. However, I needed to find out what the criticizing person wanted me to do to make the situation better. With my power flying around with all those emotions, they stopped me from communicating. There was a big emotional wall between us. I gave my power away. I gave my power to my emotions. I gave my power to these negative thoughts. Don’t give your power away. Keep your power. Use it to help prevent unwanted things from happening again.

One thing is to learn through experience, don’t take what people say personally. It is only their opinion. It is not a fact.
Once I accepted that, I was able to let go of the charges against me. I was able to stop those voices in my head that told me how terrible I was. I’m sure you can repeat them. “You don’t measure up. You’re not good enough. You are below standard.”

It is easy to be a drama queen or king. It’s easy to say, “I am a victim. I don’t deserve this. How dare they think that?” As long as you keep telling your story without taking positive action to stand up for yourself you may see the same scene occurring over and over again. You have to change your behavior so you’re acting in a planned mode, not reacting to what others do. Take action for you…talk, explain, plan, ask others what they want you to do if they criticize you. Ask them to explain or teach you how to do what it is they wish to have done.

When you start thinking of another person as the bad guy, your relationship is in really big trouble. Contrary to what you might think, the other person is not the bad guy necessarily. You don’t understand them. You don’t like how things are going between you. They might be thinking of you as the “bad guy.” When this happens, there is a lot of anger and resentment built up that has not been taken care of along life’s path. You need to change the focus of your thoughts.

Start looking for reasons to be thankful for that person. Look for their strengths. Be thankful for them. Look for your strengths. Be thankful for them. Look at the fact that both of you are human. No matter what, when you look in the mirror, you are human. When the other person looks in the mirror, they are human, too. No one is perfect. As my Mother, Ethel D. Meyer, used to say, “Only one person was perfect, that was Jesus Christ. And look what they did to him.” You have to respect them as a human being. You have to respect yourself, too. This is where you have to forgive yourself and forgive the person you are having this problem with. You have to forgive the person you feel is the “Bad Guy.” When you have forgiven yourself and the other person. Then you are one step closer to a solution. You are closer to being able to say, “I don’t have that problem any more.” After forgiving yourself and the other person or people involved, you will start seeing the positive things.

I started saying, “I am a good teacher. They just didn’t see it. I asked myself, “How can I make them notice that I am a good teacher?” I listed all the ways I knew I was a good teacher. I listed ways I could improve in the areas the evaluator (critiquer) said I lacked.

Until you can get a positive spin on the situation, then you may keep creating the same situation you don’t like. When you focus on the negative, it keeps coming. However, if you focus on the positive of yourself and the others doing your evaluating or criticizing, then you get more positive. You get stronger. You recognize the strengths, until you can say, “I am getting better and better. Every day I am getting better and better.”

Find someone who is doing what you want to be able to do. Watch them. Read the story of the lives of the experts.
Talk with the experts. You may not be able to do it exactly like they did. Your situation is different. Adapt their procedures and steps to match your situation. Design your own method for handling this particular situation.

Pray. God will help you through it. He has already put the people and things you need to help you in your path. Look for them. They are there. Seize the opportunity to grow in a positive manner. Make it fun for you. You know what makes you smile. Incorporate it into your plan. Read, laugh, draw, watch, dream, live, laugh, love! You’re getting better every minute that goes by. God is right there with you showing you the way.

Please leave a comment below.

Laugh Smile Giggle
Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2010 Joan Y. Edwards. All rights reserved.

2 Responses

  1. Joan,

    I love the reminder to laugh at ourselves. I like the comparison of laughter with oil to get us going again. You had many good ideas about taking action when things aren’t going well and putting a positive spin on things.

    As far as suggestions…Maybe you could share some of your many uses of singing.

    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda, Thanks for leaving a really kind comment. I’m glad you liked the reminder to laugh at ourselves. Thanks for reminding me of how I use singing to make me feel better. I’ll include that in a blog soon. Thanks for the suggestion. Do something good for yourself.

      Enjoy Life’s Journey Don’t Give Up – Read my blog – http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com

      Joan Y. Edwards joanyedwards@earthlink.net 1. #Pub Sub 3rd Fri – Send a submission to a publisher on the third Friday of each month from February 2010 through January 2011. May I count you in? 2. Buy a copy of Flip Flap Floodle to instill Never Give up Perseverance character trait in your children and grandchildren. 3. Need Inspirational devotions, puzzles, and skits for children at church? Visit http://www.joanyedwards.com

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

