Print Out the Publisher’s Guidelines (PubSub3rdFri)


“Print Out the Publisher’s Guidelines (PubSub3rdFri)” by Joan Y. Edwards

If you submitted in last month, hurray for you. If you didn’t submit your work last month, it’s okay. You can do it this month. Perhaps you’re in better shape to do it in April.  Spring is here. The birds and the flowers may energize you.

Perhaps you did more research for your article. You have photos and information from an interview to add to it. Maybe you rewrote the second chapter of your novel because it needed better dialogue. Accept yourself where you are. Be proud of who you are and all that you’ve done in your life.

Get yourself ready to submit a manuscript to a publisher on the third Friday of this month, April 16th. It can be an article, poem, puzzle, devotion, illustration, short story, chapter book, middle grade novel, young adult novel, adult novel, play, movie. In other words, the sky is the limit as to what you can submit. Don’t give up. Get your creative work ready to send off. Go For It. Let me hear you shout, “YEE HAW! I CAN DO IT. I CAN DO IT. I CAN DO IT.”

Week One

  1. Make a list of three possible publishers for this particular creative work of yours.
  2. Read all three publishers’ guidelines.
  3. Select the publisher you will use this month.
  4. Print out a copy and save a copy of the publisher’s guidelines.
  5. Fine tune your manuscript – have your writing group or other professional writer critique it.

Good luck! See my Pub Sub 3rd Fri posts for more information. Do something good for yourself today! Laugh out loud!

What motivates you to submit a manuscript or article? Leave a comment.

Ask a question. I’d love to hear from you.

Copyright © 2010 Joan Y. Edwards. All rights reserved.

7 Responses

  1. Thanks for continuing to encourage us to submit.

    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda, Thanks for leaving a comment. I appreciate it very much. I hope you have many happy submissions and publications.

      Enjoy Life’s Journey Don’t Give Up – Read my blog – http://www.joanyedwards.com.wordpress.com

      Joan Y. Edwards joanyedwards@earthlink.net 1. #Pub Sub 3rd Fri – Send a submission to a publisher on the third Friday of each month from February 2010 through January 2011. May I count you in? 2. Buy a copy of Flip Flap Floodle to instill Never Give up Perseverance character trait in your children and grandchildren. 3. Need Inspirational devotions, puzzles, and skits for children at church? Visit http://www.joanyedwards.com

      Like

  2. You’ve challenged me to do this myself. I’m the Master Procrastinator. Hopefully this will challenge me to get my butt in gear and submit. Thanks. 🙂

    Like

    • Dear Kimber,
      Thanks for leaving a comment. I appreciate it. I’m glad I might have challenged you to have fun submitting your creative endeavors to a publisher! Hurray for you. Go, girl, go!
      What kind of writing do you do? Do you illustrate, too? Do something good for yourself!

      Like

  3. Oh, I hadn’t even read this and just yesterday I submitted to places…
    Lindsey Petersen

    Like

    • Dear Lindsey,
      Thanks for writing. I’m proud that you submitted to places. I’ve read your blog. You have a great sense of humor. I’m sure you’ll get published. Go to my website: http://www.joanyedwards.com and click on Pub Sub 3rd Fri and print yourself a certificate for submitting! Go, Lindsey, Go.

      Like

    • Dear Lindsey, Thanks for writing. I’m proud that you submitted to places. I’ve read your blog. You have a great sense of humor. I’m sure you’ll get published. Go to my website: http://www.joanyedwards.com and click on Pub Sub 3rd Fri and print yourself a certificate for submitting! Go, Lindsey, Go.

      Dear Lindsey, Thanks for writing. I’m proud that you submitted to places. I’ve read your blog. You have a great sense of humor. I’m sure you’ll get published. Go to my website: http://www.joanyedwards.com and click on Pub Sub 3rd Fri and print yourself a certificate for submitting! Go, Lindsey, Go. joanyedwards@earthlink.net joanyedwards https://joanyedwards.wordpress.com

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

