Slow-It-Down Saturday


Tomorrow is Saturday. I’m going to say it’s a Slow-It-Down Saturday.

There’s a possibility of Snow.

Snow by Joan Y. Edwards

Beautiful snowflakes wearing clothes of different styles.

Beautiful snowflakes, traveling down to earth for miles.

Dancing to the tune of “Silent Night.”

All is calm. All is bright.

The snow shimmers in the night.

It asks you if it should turn left or right.

If you stand outside, it’ll land on your nose.

It’ll make a snowman out of the snowflakes you chose.

When the sun heats up, the snowman drops to the ground.

It melts until another venture without even a sound.

Take time to do something for yourself today. Make your day’s time spread out to include three things that are fun for you.

A  bath with warm water and bubbles (I remember when I was a child, we put soap powders used to wash clothes  in the bathtub with us. Especially useful, if we had been playing in the mud.)

Listen to 15 minutes of your favorite music on the radio, with your CD player, on television, or sing your favorite songs.

Check the batteries in your flashlights. If it snows or ice forms on the power lines, the power may go out. Then you can sit in an easy chair and relax. Hopefully you have extra food in your cupboard that doesn’t require cooking or baking.

Spend 15 minutes thanking God for allowing you to enjoy this Saturday. Tell him all that you want to do today. He’ll help you get it done calmly and efficiently. After all, a man who can build the earth in 7 days knows how to use time wisely.

Read a good book to your children or grandchildren. 15 minutes of now time creates hours of fond memories for years to come.

Write a poem about snow or Christmas. Post it on your refrigerator.

Feel free to comment and tell me your favorite thing to do when it snows.

Joan Y. Edwards
Website: http://www.joanyedwards.com

Copyright © 2009 Joan Y. Edwards. All rights reserved.

6 Responses

  1. I don’t know about snow, I’m still only seeing rain out our windows. I’m too close to the beach. But I like your suggestions for activities. Maybe I should write a poem about wishing it would snow. And I could surely enjoy a long soaking bubble bath.

    Merry Christmas, Joan

    Like

    • Dear Janice,
      Thanks for your comments. You always have something good to say. I am honored. You have a great imagination. I can visualize your writing a poem wishing it would snow. A long soaking bubble bath is one of my favorite things to do. Here’s hoping you have a rubber ducky to entertain you. Imagine it singing or quacking your favorite tune!
      I sometimes think I’d like to live at the beach except during hurricane season. When I hear the calm purr of the ocean, it relaxes me. During a hurricane, I take the evacuation route quickly.
      My husband, Carl and I are heading to the beach for a few days soon.
      Merry Christmas to you, too!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Like

  2. Joan,

    I like the idea of fifteen minute segments for doing special things.

    I agree we can learn a lot of time management skills from our Creator God. Good point!

    No snow here but I can enjoy the photos of it elsewhere.

    Linda A.

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      Thanks for your comments. It’s a pleasure to hear from you.
      I’m glad you like the 15 minute segments for doing special things.
      God is the best time manager of all. Enjoying the photos of snow somewhere else is a great idea. It saves on snow boots, sleds, and snow shovels. May God bless you in a special way today.

      Like

  3. I just couldnt leave your website before saying that I actually enjoyed the quality info you provide to all your visitors. Will be back generally to check up on new information in you article!

    Like

    • Dear Rocher, Thank you for your kind comments about my article on “Slow-It-Down Saturday.” I appreciate it very much.

      Enjoy Life’s Journey Joan Y. Edwards

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

