• Blog Stats

    • 479,266 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Doing Something for Others Will Make you Feel Better


Doing something for others made me feel better. I called a few people I hadn’t talked with in a while to see if I could encourage them or rejoice in good news that they share with me. That made me feel better to focus on someone other than myself. I also helped someone do something they were unable to do for themselves.

I  finished a few personal projects that were not writing related and got them finished. Washing and drying clothes, going to the grocery store, buying more healthy foods, mailing packages to family and friends.

I went to the Southern Christmas Show with my older daughter, her husband, and my two granddaughters. That was a fun experience. It got my mind off the subjects I was worried about. Filled my mind with new visions, new ideas, new products and surrounded me with love.

The next night I babysat with two of my grandsons so my younger daughter and her husband could go to the Panthers/Miami Football game in downtown Charlotte. We played with trains, read books, and watched Dinosaur Train.

I went to lunch with a friend today. Listening to her and how she is working toward her goals in life, helped inspire me to continue going towards mine. I feel like I will be successful at getting my stories published, it will just take more time. I signed up for Oregon Coast Children’s Book Writers Workshop for next summer and made my motel reservations. My sister, Judy will join me. She’s going to enjoy the beach while I enjoy my writing workshop. I’ll make my plane reservations and I’ll be all set for educating myself a little more and get feedback from successful authors and editors about my writing every day for 5 days.  One of the things you can do to reach your goal is to study successful people to see how they accomplished  what you want to do.  The Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators, http://www.scbwi.org/ is a good way to learn how other writers are getting published.  They have magazines and e-zines, online resources, and our Carolinas Chapter has a list-serve (Yahoo Group) that writers and illustrators use to ask questions and give answers to other writers and illustators. The Children’s Book Writers and Illustators I have met in person or through this group share unselfishly with other writers and illustrators. They work from the premise that there is an abundance of room for each and every one of us in the publishing field. That is a blessing.

May God fill your heart, mind, and spirit with renewed energy and focus on what you want.

Jesus said,  “Ask and you shall receive.” Matthew 7:7

Psalms 37:4 says – Delight thyself also in the LORD; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.

Please feel free to leave a comment.

Thanks for reading my blog.  You can subscribe to it by clicking on the RSS on the left at the top.

Never Give Up

Joan

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

