• Blog Stats

    • 489,431 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

When You’re Feeling Low


I’m feeling kind of low today. I took a nap to see if that had a good effect. It did help. Then I worked on straightening up items around the house. That always seems to help me feel better.

Last week I printed out the cover letter, proposal, and first three chapters of my Elder Care Guide. I made notes with a highlighter of ways to make my meaning clearer and easier to read.

I also printed out Immigrant Heart, a Young Adult Novel that I wrote about Catarina Ricci and her grandfather coming to the United States through Ellis Island in 1902, only to discover her grandfather would be sent back to Italy because of a limp.  I made changes I thought would make the meaning clearer and easier to read, too. It seemed like some of the conversation in the first chapter wasn’t real and alive. I’m thinking of ways to enliven it.

Last weekend I had a good time visiting my sister, her boyfriend, and two cousins in Charleston, SC area this past weekend. Perhaps I am just tired.

It is discouraging when I don’t hear good news or any news from publishers or when I see how much work there is to do to improve my stories. However, I will take a little vacation from them. One day about a week or so later, I will become inspired to continue on. I will concentrate on revising one chapter at a time, until I’ve revised the whole manuscript to the best of my abilities at this particular time in my life  with the information and the talents I possess.

It is discouraging when sad news and bad news on television and newspapers surround me. Perhaps it’s the same way with you.  However, we must continue going forward. Taking a rest allows you the time to regroup your strategy, revitalize your body and mind, and break your project into smaller achievable steps.

I’ll let you know how I did on this.

What do you do when you are feeling low?

Please feel free to comment.

Click on RSS above left  to subscribe to getting notice when I update this blog.

May God bless you and fill you with joy and energy!

4 Responses

  1. JOAN!! I didn’t know you had a blog. I’m so happy for you! I’m going you add it to my blogroll.

    We all have rough days, weeks, months and sometimes even years. It seems like there is a drought in our souls. The RainMaker will fill the need, my friend. He always does!

    I really am excited to be able to share this blogging journey with you. YAYAY JOAN! 🙂

    love,
    Donna Earnhardt (aka wordwranglernc)

    Like

  2. Dear Donna,
    Thanks for commenting. It always lifts my spirits to hear from you. How did you find my blog? Thanks for adding my blog to your blogroll. Do you have a blog?
    How are your daughters and your hubby? How are your writing ventures doing?
    I would really like to have an update on you and your whole family.
    Never Give Up
    Love, Joan

    Like

  3. I was checking Niki’s blog and saw your name. Then clicked over to your website and found your blog! Yes, I have a blog. http://wordwranglernc.wordpress.com
    I’m also the administrator for the Write2ignite conference site and blog. http://write2ignite.wordpress.com and
    http://fireitup4w2i.wordpress.com

    Are you considering attending the conference? it’s in February down in Greenville. I hope you’ll come. I’m on the conference team and am looking forward to being there. I’d love to see you!

    Like

    • How neat that you found my blog through Niki’s blog. I’m considering going to the Write2Ignite Conference. Thanks for commenting. Have a blessed day!

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

