Climbing Up after Agent Rejection


“Climbing Up after Agent Rejection” by Joan Y. Edwards (Posted October 18, 2009)

Climbing up after an agent rejects you takes a lot of energy.

I did reach my goal of getting the book manuscript of my Elder Care Guide – Day to Day Survival ready to send off before my online chat with the agent.  I reached that goal.  Hurray for me.

I remember the advice Mother gave me. Don’t ask someone a yes or no question unless you can take either answer.

I was ready for either answer. I can accept it.  I respect it. Even if it wasn’t the answer I wanted.

I am thankful to the Lea Schiza Muse Online Writer’s Conference  http://www.themuseonlinewritersconference.com/ for making it possible to be able to present manuscript ideas to publishers and agents.  She had many wonderful workshops: how to write a 100 word pitch, write power sentences, write as tight as Granny’s Girdle, how to use websites, facebook, twitter, and blogs to promote your books, how to write lessons to accompany your children’s book, and many others

I am thankful that I got an actual reply in less than one minute.  Many publishers and a few agents tell you that the only time you’ll hear back from them is if they like your manuscript.

It was definitely educational.

It’ll make me stronger.

I realize that my 100 word pitch was good.  Now to perfect the ten word pitch and two sentence pitch.

The agent  offered me ways to get my Elder Care  book published through small medical profession or caregiver assocations. He also said I could self publish it.  That was really nice that he share ideas with me. I appreciate that.

There was a quality promotion nurse at Carolina’s Medical Center – Pineville, I may ask her if she would be kind enough to read it.

The Hospice nurse who helped care for Mother was interested in reading it, however, she doesn’t work for them any more.

I have the names of a few publishers that I will send query letters or whole manuscript, depending upon their guidelines.

This was just one person’s opinion.

There are other paths to take. I am choosing to continue onward and upward.

I hope if this happens to you, that you will continue going onward and upward.

Please comment here on perhaps what you have done after rejection.

May God bless you!

Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2009 Joan Y. Edwards. All rights reserved.

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

