• Blog Stats

    • 473,733 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Prioritize & Focus


Many of us have so many things going on. It’s hard to figure out which thing to focus on first. If we take just a few minutes out to prioritize things. Which things must be done today? Which things can wait until next week? Then once you’ve decided what your Number One priority is: FOCUS ON IT UNTIL IT IS COMPLETED.

Now you will find there are many distractions. Phone calls, television shows, mail deliveries, emails, children, grandchildren, husbands, bosses. However, your brain has the power to push all these things aside and focus on the task you have designated as what you really want to do NOW.

I’m writing this because that’s what I need to do right now. Prioritize and FOCUS on the number 1 thing until it is finished.

Here’s Number One. I’ve revised my Elder Care Guide. Now I’ve got to finish polishing it up for my online pitch session with Mr. Chip MacGregor of MacGregor Literary Agency on Thursday, October 15, 2009 at 7:00 p.m. I must be finished by then. No matter what. It wouldn’t necessarily be the end of the world, if I didn’t get these polishing things done, but I will feel more confident if I do.  Accepting it’s okay either way may free my energy up to do more on it.

Try that on a goal. Accept that it’s okay if you reach it. It’s okay if you don’t. Then expect it to happen. Visualize it coming about. Put pictures of you experiencing success in your mind.

Do something good for yourself today.

Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2009 Joan Y. Edwards. All rights reserved.

2 Responses

  1. Dear Joan,
    I appreciate your comments about focus. Right now I am very overwhelmed. I, too, participated in the muse conference. I wasn’t able to do too much, since working but your post about focus has been a blessing. I have so many articles that I have written for Wordmunchers, yet I have not submitted them. On my last crit, you told me I could do it and I have as a goal to submit my latest to that contest. I will feel really good if I actually accomplish that this week. Do you have any suggestions as to what would be a reasonable goal to set for myself on revising articles and subbing them while working between 32-40 hours a week.
    You are a gem, Joan and I am glad to have you as a friend.
    Megan

    Like

    • Dear Megan,
      Thanks for saying that I am a gem. I’m feeling a little dull. Your words polished me right up to perky and sparkling.
      About writing and submitting your articles, here’s my sugggestion. Set one hour to revise your work each week. Send out one article each month. If you do more than that, celebrate. If you do that, celebrate. If you tried to get it in, but didn’t one week. Get it in as soon as you can. You may have to get up earlier one day or stay up later one night. If you have children around, tell them that you are Focusing on your dream right now. This one hour is for me. Make yourself a sign and put it on your door, on your computer, or in your mind.
      Love yourself and forgive yourself, but keep on trying to get that goal accomplished. If you forget about what your focus is, it won’t be accomplished. Set your goals, focus on them. Think about them, make them happen. You can set a timer for one hour.
      Submitting is interesting. If you don’t submit, how can someone say “YES.” What we are afraid of is that they will say, “NO.” We have to have plans for what we will do if they say “Yes.” We also need to have plans for if they say, NO.” Visualize your self with the article in the magazine reading it to your son or daughter. Or chatting with our Wordmunchers critique group about it. It’s tricky. Somehow our visions get a little foggy when things don’t go the way we planned. However, God has his plan. He has something better for us than what we could ever dream of. Sometimes life’s challenges get in the way. We just have to keep going. Otherwise our dreams will just be stardust…instead of stars. I hope this helps you.

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

