• Blog Stats

    • 462,586 Reads
  • Contact Me

    joanyedwards1@gmail.com
  • Pub Sub to Publishers or Agents

  • Joan's Elder Care Guide Third Place, Favorite Non-Fiction Book in 2016, P&E Poll

  • Buy Now: 4RV Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Park Road Books

  • Draft cover

  • Copyright Notice

    Copyright © 2009-2017
    Joan Y. Edwards and her licensors.

    Active since 0ctober 9, 2009. Thank you for reading and leaving comments on my blog.

    Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this
    material without express and written permission
    from Joan Y. Edwards is strictly prohibited.

    Excerpts and links may be used, provided that
    full and clear credit is given to Joan Y. Edwards
    with appropriate links to the original content.

Don’t Give Up…Read My Blog!


This was my first blog post. October 9, 2009.

Welcome to joanyedwards at WordPress.

Flip Flap Floodle written and illustrated by Joan Y. Edwards

Flip Flap Floodle written and illustrated by Joan Y. Edwards

There have been many times in my life that I thought about giving up. However, but I had this little song, duck, and story inside me that kept me going. Flip Flap Floodle is a little duck who believes that his song will save him from Mr. Fox. He never stops playing his song even in Mr. Fox’s belly. Because sometimes in life we need a little help, Flip’s Mother saves him by sprinkling  pepper on Mr. Fox’s nose.  God sends you the help you need. Believe and it will be given to you. Believe that you can do what God puts in your mind and in your heart.

I sent several stories off to publishers that were rejected. Discouragement filled my heart, but deep down I know that the right publisher and I will meet and my stories will be published. I continue to focus on what I want. Publication of all my stories.

I try not to think of what I don’t want. Here’s why. I watched the movie called,  The Secret by Rhonda Byrne. It tells you that what you get in life is what you think about. If I continually think about everything I don’t want, that’s what I’ll get. If I think mostly about what I want, then I’ll have a better chance to get it.

The Secret also reminds you to be thankful for what you have. You receive more of everything for which you offer thanks.  The ideas in The Secret, movie and book inspire, energize, and give you a new respect for yourself and what you accomplish your life.

Today, I am revising an Elder Care Guide I started writing before my Mother, Ethel Darnell Bruffey Meyer, died on March 18, 2009. I took care of her for 14 years. I was glad that I was able to take care of her. She was a good-natured lady.  Here are some of her quotes that were wise, yet spunky:

  1. I asked Mother, “Do you believe people go to heaven when they die?”
    She said, “Some do and some don’t.”
  2. “Don’t ask a ‘Yes’ or ‘No’ question unless you can accept either answer.”
  3. “A hungry person never ate bad food.”
  4. “God didn’t say we wouldn’t have problems, but He said that He would be there for us.”

I want to encourage you today: Never Give Up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Copyright © 2009-2014 Joan Y. Edwards

P.S. I did get a contract with 4RV Publishing for Joan’s Elder Care Guide. I am working on revisions for the editor now (February 23, 2014). Its release date is 2014.

12 Responses

  1. I hope you will leave a comment. Let me know if I can help you.

    Like

  2. Hi Joan,

    Did my earlier comment show up?

    Like

    • Yes, thank you for your sweet encouraging note. I approved it earlier, but I don’t know why it didn’t show up. I went and approved it again. The first comment you made was About Joan Y. Edwards…perhaps it’s there if you click there.

      Like

  3. Hi Joan, and thanks for your encouragement. I am sorry about your mother passing. Look at how her positive attitude is still influencing you and motivating you to persevere! She would be proud. Maybe she is looking down on you and smiling. I wonder that about heaven sometimes, whether when we get there we will look down, or whether we will be too busy praising.
    I will look for that movie. Best wishes on your new blog! blessings-
    :l

    Like

    • Dear Lara,
      You’re welcome for the encouragement. Thank you for caring about my Mother’s passing. She may be too busy, having the Angels sing Daniel O’Donnell’s favorite songs or trying to keep little children from being abused, or both. Good luck with all your publishing and life endeavors

      Like

  4. Hi Joan,

    Earlier, I commented that I liked your uplifting message and thanked you for helping uplift me earlier during our phone conversation. Good luck with your blog.

    Linda

    Like

    • Dear Linda,
      I’m glad you found your comment. It may have been just floating out there in cyberspace. Eventually, I’d have found it so you could see it. Have a great day!

      Like

  5. Hi Joan,

    I found it and it is fine there. It describes YOU!

    Linda

    Like

    • Cool. I’m glad it describes me. Thanks for being my friend.

      Like

  6. Joan, I love your blog! Your words were the inspiration I needed on a dreary day. I, too, have suffered many rejections. But like you, I believe God’s timing is perfect. So when He decides, then the match will be made. Meanwhile, I’m continuing to write (although, I don’t have the time I would like to devote to my writing), and submit. One of these days it will work out for both of us.
    I am going to look for that movie too. I cared for both of my parents prior to their passing. The hospice worker encouraged me to write down their little quotes and keep a daily journal, but I was too tired from caring for them to do it. I regret this decision often.
    I’m looking forward to your book. It should be a hit–after all, there are more of us facing this situation now than ever before.
    I love what Joel Osteen says…”Your past is God’s preparation for your future.” What a mouthful!

    Like

    • Thanks for your complimentary words. I’m glad my words inspired you. You’ll remember those little quotes. Say I can remember them. Three times. When these words are meaningful and helpful to you, they will just show up.
      How neat! I love Joel Osteen, too. He accepts you as you are and lifts you up without making you feel guilty. Great minds wonder in the same plane, don’t they? Thanks for saying my book should be a hit. All these comments have me bowing humbly. Do something great for yourself, today.

      Like

    • Dear Linda Hurst,
      I was going back through my blogs and realized somehow I either hadn’t responded, or hadn’t received your sweet compliment about my blog. I too look forward to the time when both of us are published. I created a group called Pub Sub 3rd Fri who will send off manuscripts to publishers at least once a month. Check it out in my blog categories. I’m so sorry I didn’t get your note earlier. I hope to hear from you again soon.
      I’ve sent you this as an email in case the other one I posted to my blog today doesn’t get to you.
      I still listen to Joel Osteen almost every Sunday. He gives me good reasons to rejoice in God my savior.

      Like

I love hearing from you. To subscribe to comments, check the box below. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

