Five Books to Improve Your Writing Skills


Participant Badge of Pub Sub 3rd Fri
Participant Badge of Pub Sub 3rd Fri

“Five Books to Improve Your Writing Skills” by Joan Y. Edwards

Originally, Twitter hashtag #pubsub3rdFri WEEK ONE STEPS – May 2010 TO PUB SUB 3RD FRI

In May more flowers bloom. Perhaps this will be the month for you manuscript, art work, or music to bloom. If you’re a mother, father, sister, or brother, May is a great month to submit your work. The third Friday is May 21st. Do it in honor of your own Mother. You can do it. I have faith in you. You’ve been having experiences to help you put the emotional pull of a character this way and that way in your writing. You’ve researched choices for your characters. Your subconscious mind is busy at work figuring out how to make your writing distinctive, charming, and lively. It’s helping you stand out from thousands of written works.

Submitting a query letter counts as a submission. Query, Query, Query until someone says “Yes.
Perhaps you did more research for your article. You have photos and information from an interview to add to it. Maybe you rewrote the second chapter of your novel because it needed better dialogue. Accept yourself where you are. Be proud of who you are and all that you’ve done in your life.

Here are five books that helped me with my writing skills. Checking out the book from your local library is free.
If you want your own copy, usually you can buy used ones on Amazon for $5.00 or less plus $3.99 shipping. You can also check a used book store in your area.

Donald Maass: The Fire in Fiction.
Donald Maass: Writing the Break Out Novel.
Donald Maass: Writing the Break Out Novel Workbook.
Noah Lukeman: The First Five Pages.
Margaret Lucke: Schaum’s Quick Guide to Writing Great Short Stories

Get yourself ready to submit a manuscript to a publisher on the third Friday of this month, May 21st. It can be an article, poem, puzzle, devotion, illustration, short story, chapter book, middle grade novel, young adult novel, adult novel, play, song, or movie. In other words, the sky is the limit for you to submit. Like the little duck in Flip Flap Floodle say, “I won’t give up.”

Get your creative work ready to send off. Go For It. Let me hear you shout, “Yes, yes. I CAN DO IT. I CAN REALLY DO IT.”

Week One

  1. This week make a list of three possible publishers for this particular creative work of yours.
  2. Read all three publishers’ guidelines.
  3. Select the publisher you will use this month.
  4. Print out a copy and save a copy of the publisher’s guidelines.
  5. Fine tune your manuscript – have your writing group or other professional writer/editor critique it.

Good luck! See my other Pub Sub 3rd Fri posts for more information. Do something good for yourself today!

Have I motivated you to submit?
I hope so.

Enjoy your day.

Please leave a comment. Thanks.
Leave a comment. Ask a question. I’d enjoy your company here in my blog.

Joan Y. Edwards

Copyright © 2010 Joan Y. Edwards. All rights reserved.

2 Responses

  1. Hi Joan,

    I felt empowered when I sent status queries yesterday. Maybe you can add that to the things to do when no response comes within the designated wait time. I think it helped improve my mood. Later, I tried to figure out why I suddenly felt so happy. I think my actions had made the difference in how I felt. I had made sure my work wasn’t lost. One editor didn’t seem to be able to locate my submission even though I hand-delivered it. She asked me to resend it. It pays to check back when answers don’t come.

    Maybe others could share tips that would help writers with submissions.

    Linda A.

    • Dear Linda, Thanks for writing. I’m glad you sent a status query and discovered that that even though you had hand delivered a submission, it had somehow gotten lost. Yes, it’s good to know how long to wait until you can write to make sure they received it. It’s great that they wanted you to resend it. I’m glad it helped improve your mood. I heard from a lady in one my critique groups whose manuscript was supposed to have been sent to the Vice President of the Company in charge of publishing. The lady sent a letter checking and they asked her to resend it. I wish publishing houses that use email submissions would do the automatic reply so that you at least know they received it. Thanks for your idea about checking up on your submissions after the designated wait time. I hope people read this and do check. Do something good for yourself today!

      Enjoy Life’s Journey Don’t Give Up – Read my blog – http://www.joanyedwards.com.wordpress.com

      Joan Y. Edwards joanyedwards@earthlink.net 1. Pub Sub 3rd Fri – Submit a manuscript to a publisher on the third Friday of each month. May I count you in? 2. Be like Flip Flap Floodle and say, “I Won’t Give up.” 3. http://www.joanyedwards.com Inspirational devotions, puzzles, and skits for children

I love hearing from you. Please tell me your first name. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,699 other followers

