Monday – A Day to Learn


Today is Monday, December 28, 2009. There are 3 more days in 2009.  Monday is a great day to learn something new. Something new could help you reach one of your goals.

Today I learned that there are a few websites that have an online template to fill in information to print out a Medical Information Wallet Card. It has places for name, address, phone number. Family and doctors to contact. It also has a place to put medical conditions: such as, diabetes, asthma. It also has a place to put allergies, and to list 4 medications with dosage and frequency. Here is the easiest one I found at First Aid http://www.firstaidco.ca/medcard.pdf/. You just type your information in and print out the page. You can cut it out and laminate it and put it in your wallet. It can be changed as medications change.

I learned during the last week that Bactrim antibiotic can have wicked side-effects. My husband was taking it and broke out in a painfully itchy rash over all of his body. Bactrim’s rash didn’t start until the 9th day he took it. We called the doctor’s office.  The nurse said to stop taking the new medications and give him Benadryl (2 pills of 25mg every 4 hours). It helped calm the rash. He also took a bath with a box and a half of baking soda.  The rash was raised up and welted. It also made Carl overanxious about everything. That was late on Christmas evening after we had a wonderful day at his daughter’s house. My daughters and their families had come over for Christmas Eve and we had a great time eating together and opening presents.  This is day 3 and the rash is still there, but fading. It is no longer on his head, face, and neck. It is a light pink now rather than a deep burning red.

I learned that I got overwhelmed by all the sickness and crisis situations I have been through with my husband during the last month.  I stopped to pray and take time to do something for myself. Caregivers need to do that. Praying is a great activity to ground you and calm you from the top of your head to the tip of your toes. Then you can focus again on your goal.

Is your goal serving the Lord? Or is it that and a personal goal that you believe God wants you to accomplish?

When I started caring for my Mother, at first I said to myself, “Oh no. I’ll never be able to get my book published now.” Then I read an article where a lady said she had started taking care of her Mother and was still able to achieve her goal. So I thought God would allow me to reach my goal of getting “Flip Flap Floodle” published and take care of my Mother, too.  And I did just that. In 2004 I self-published it. God helped me accomplish my dream.

I am going to the movies tomorrow – Celebration Tuesday. I learned about two movies I would like to see: “Up in the Air” with George Clooney and  “Alvin and the Chipmunks 2.”  I knew a man whose job it was to lay off 300 people where he worked. He helped them get new jobs and  register for courses to learn new skills for  new jobs. I want to see how the writers,  director Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner handle this sensitive subject and insert comedy, too.  Anna Kendrick plays the part of a competitor downsizer in the movie.  One reviewer gave it 4 stars out of 4 stars.  Rumors are it might get nominated for an Oscar.

I want to see “Alvin and the Chipmunks 2″ just to be silly and laugh and laugh. Laughter is healing. Being silly is healing. I tell my children and grandchildren this, “Being silly will help you live a long time.”

I learned that sugar free candy is not carbohydrate free. If 3 pieces of sugar free candy is 15 grams of carbohydrates, it is scary to think about how many carbs a regular piece of candy is.

I learned that all of us need to monitor our carbohydrate intake, especially those with more than 10 grams of sugar per serving. 

I remember that when I was little, we only had desserts on Sundays or when company came. I learned that having fruit can be a dessert or having a glass of milk can be a dessert. 

I wish that more products were made with less sugar than with the artificial sweeteners that may be inducing more harm than good to the dieting public or diabetics.

Please feel free to comment and let me know what you learned today.

May God bless you and fill you with hope!

May 2010 bring you good health!

2 Responses

  1. Joan,

    Boy you learned a lot in one day. Your cup must be overflowing with knowledge.

    I learned to reflect on my wonderful Christmas memories and blessings as I packed all my pretties away for next year.

    Linda A.

    • Dear Linda, Thanks for writing. Yes, it was a lot. Actually, the whole year of 2009 was one filled with many high and low emotions, a ton of knowledge, and hopefully enough wisdom to get me through the next few days of my life. I am so thankful for many things in my life, but especially my family and friends like you who keep me afloat.

      Writing Books Children Love

      Joan Y. Edwards 704-752-7253 joanyedwards@earthlink.net Website: http://www.joanyedwards.com/ Blog: http://www.joanyedwards.wordpress.com/ Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/joanyedwards/ Twitter: http://twitter.com/joanyedwards/

I love hearing from you. Please tell me your first name. Children 14 & older may comment (COPPA Law).

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,693 other followers

